We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed December 10, 2012

An airport hotel having an airport atmosphere. The hotel seems to be not so old, but already a bit used. Anyhow, the hotel is ok for one night. Aiport shuttle is available. Dinner and breakfast was ok. Medium SA standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CH_FreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear CH_FreqTraveller

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS’ expectations is very important to us and I am disappointed that we did not achieve this during your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with my TEAM, so we can improve where necessary.

Should you stay with us again, we would welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

I hope that you had a successful trip to South Africa and got to see some wildlife on your trip to Kruger National Park.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

This upbeat hotel was too far away from the terminal to walk but an easy efficient shuttle bus solves that problem. This place is modern, artistic, nice staff, very adequate rooms. Good value for money. I'd stay there again any time. I frequently use transit hotels passing through Jo'burg airport and this one is up there in the winning category!

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view of the Airport and got just what I asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear James N

We are conveniently located just minutes from the airport and it is pleasing to hear that you found our complimentary shuttles from the airport ‘easy and efficient’.

Your feedback as a frequent transit traveller is much appreciated, especially that you rated us so highly in all areas from décor to service. This will assist us in our continuous search for excellence and offering quality at all times.

Enjoy the rest of your worldly travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR T ambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is a perfect place to stay between flights. The hotel has got very nice common areas and although the rooms are not very big, they are very nicelly decorated and modern. The service was very good in general and the shuttle between the hotel and the airport was very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Sofia A

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and its unique location near the airport.

It is our aim to provide the best GUEST service and the STAFF will be pleased to hear of your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding the modern rooms and comfortable common areas.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Well, my first impression was not very good for some reasons, however, they have taken a very quick corrective actions to make my stay pleasant and comfortable.

My check in was a little bit time consuming but as soon as they realized that they could correct this situation very quickly by offering a very special compliment which means that they really care about the customer which is their business.

Very special thanks to Lindia Mangels (GUEST Relations Manager) and General Manager, Gawie Nel for their caring and interest to make their customer EXTREMELY satisfied.

So, I'll look forward to stay here again and again and I advise and recommend others to stay here as well.

Regarding the room cleanliness, it couldn't be any better as well as the room services, the hotel staff are super friendly and informative.

Actually it was my first time in my life to stay at a room that is very close to the airport so it was a new experience for me and nice as well.

There's a free shuttle bus since the morning until 11:00 pm on daily basis from and to the airport, which means that if you wanna go to any of the airport restaurant at night for dinner it will be possible and will take only 5 mins.

They have a very very good gym, and I wished I could use it but I had no time for that.

Final conclusion is, it's a very good place to stay not only as a transit overnight but also for even one week as my case.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaledmaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Khaledmaged

Thank you for posting such a detailed and positive review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

Meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations play an important role in our hotel and this is evident from your comments regarding the friendly STAFF and wide variety of services we offer. I will pass on your comments to the TEAM, who will be delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay.

We are grateful for your words of recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having travelled for 14hrs from Australia and needing a hotel for one night close to the airport providing a comfortable bed but no airport noise I found that this hotel matched my needs perfectly. The staff are very friendly, the room I had though not large was very quiet, room service happy to please, and breakfast expansive and so value for money. The free shuttle a plus.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Sandra T

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Travelling can be exhausting and a 14 hour flight is no exception. I am so happy that Protea Hotel OR Tambo was able to provide you with everything that you required.

We know how important breakfast is and the TEAM will be delighted to hear your comments as it will only inspire them to do better.

I hope that the rest of your travels went well.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

While travelling, our group had the pleasure of staying here on 2 different occasions. Being 10 minutes from the airport, it allowed for a longer night sleep - we had early morning flights. The beds were extra comfortable / the pillows had a nice smell. This breakfast buffet had the best presentation, the best variety and the best taste of all our South Africa hotels. The dinner buffet was good. We found the dining room too noisy - too much echo - to want to spend any time there. There is a nice, open concept bar and a nice pool area which we were not able to enjoy due to our schedule.
There was no noise from the airplanes. The noise was from the hallway. It really sounded like our door was opened whenever someone talked in the hallway. So,... be quiet, to respect others if you stay here.
We did not like the modern design of having the shower and sink beside the bed. Careful ... the shower floor and tiles in the room are a very slippery combination. Being from North Ameria, we were shocked not to find faceclothes - bring your own ! The room had everything else - from a large safe, hair dryer, nice toiletries, kettle, regular and decaf instant coffee. The electrical outlet was a large 3 round pin, similar to what we have for clothes dryer in North America.
We would stay here again because of the perfect location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear belleamie10

I am sure that you had a trip packed with lots of flights and early mornings. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is only too happy to have provided you with some well-deserved sleep during your visit.

Your compliments regarding our breakfast are appreciated; the Chef and TEAM will be thrilled when I pass on your feedback.

I apologise for the noise that you experienced and I hope that your sleep was not disturbed.

All in all, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a lovely trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 2 separate occasions in early October. As others have written it is conveniently located being only 5 minutes by small bus transfer from the airport. The ground floor decor is very nice and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. This was the cheapest accommodation we stayed at in our 3 weeks in Africa and it was reflected in the level of fit-out in the rooms. Whilst basic it was clean and more than adequate as we were only transiting and catching up on some well deserved sleep.
Our only complaint is related to our second night when we were given a smoking room. We complained and were told that all the non-smoking rooms were taken. We highlighted that we had booked and paid for non-smoking 3 months earlier and this was unacceptable. We were then told a non-smoking room would be available in 3 hours so we reluctantly said we would wait. In the absence of any real apology or offer of compensation I suggested free drinks in the bar would be appropriate and these were provided. To our pleasant surprise the room was available in around 30 minutes and was slightly larger than the one we had stayed in previously.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear SCS62

Thank you for staying with us during your recent expedition in Africa. We appreciate your compliments and have taken note of your concern.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused with regards to your request for a non-smoking room. I am however glad that the STAFF was friendly and helpful and you were able to get that all important sleep you needed. I would also like to let you know that we are in the process s of reducing the number of smoking room to create more non-smoking rooms for our GUESTS.

The TEAM hopes you have arrived back home safely.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $82 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing