We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the reviews...just”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I chose this hotel for a transit Layover, and for this purpose it was very good.
The shuttle was on time and the room was modern spacious and clean.
My only real criticism is that I found the restaurant extremely crowded with seating space at a premium and poor food choices ....more like a "fast food" cbd self serve cafeteria than a quality hotel eating experience.
Otoh breakfast was quite adequate.
I would certainly stay again for transit, but for a longer stay might seek a better location with more dining options

Room Tip: Go Higher for the Airport view if that is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear tgh05,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your comments are highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced, regarding the concerns mentioned. These truly do not reflect the high standard which we are usually proud to offer. Your comments have been taken to heart and addressed.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you in assisting us to strive for service excellence.
Your interest and concern are much appreciated.

Best regards,

Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

All you want from an airport hotel. I come through Joburg fairly often on business and usually stay at the (much) more expensive but better placed "smart" hotels. But the Protea, now that I have stayed here, is a very viable alternative at a third of the price. Everything works - the shuttle was quick once it arrived (this is the big downside, you will lose between 30 and 60 minutes each stay in transfers), the food was good and well priced and the staff friendly and cheerful. The rooms are small but modern and smart and internet access hassle free (and free!). In a contest against the other airport perimeter hotels this wins hands down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete7480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Pete7480

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the friendly service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards


Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I read many of the TripAdvisor rooms before booking here when I missed my flight...I wasn't disappointed, but I realized how we all have different criteria for a good experience! The facilities were very clean, and a housekeeper stopped by to make sure I was satisfied. The TV remote didn't work, and they gave me another one, which didn't work either. The room service was prompt, but the food was just average. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was great...I don't think most people will be unhappy with their stay, and the airport shuttle was free and very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amycnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear amycnm,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Receiving positive comments like that is really fantastic!

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.


Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very comfortable bed! Great linen. Love the little protea hotel extras. Room towel folded so gorgeous. Room service a bit slow though. All in all not bad!

Room Tip: The smoking room are ... very smokey! Even for smokers :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlaauwVillage76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear BlaauwVillage76,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!


Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at the OR Tambo Aiport for a two day workshop. Not the best location, though they have regular shuttle to the Airport. Rooms, staff, restaurant, and service is really great.

But...
I was completely suprised that their beverages (can of coke) was three times the price of coke at regular stores, and almost half the price of their really well prepared beef burger. I guess its meant to completely ripp off the foreigners and due to the remote location, you can't walk to the closest store to get lower priced items. Best would be to purchase these at the aiport before taking a shuttle.

In addition, their "well secured" parking lot is not the safest, as the security cameras does not cover the entire parking and no one had an idea who bumped my car overnight. There is no compensation due to the exclusion of liablity clauses. Recommendation park at the far end of the parking lot away from the main hotel, as there is also construction occuring currently or in an area directly in front of the entrance as it contains the security camera.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the aiport - unusual view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear IndiaAdvisor ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you have provided us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to announce that we have our new Ala carte Menu availible in the Warehouse Restaurant with a wide variety and up to date prices. Our TEAM was most pleased to hear that you were happy with the services received.

Regarding your car that got bumped in our parking, I assure you that this is the first time something like this happended on our premises and wish we could assist you with more information regarding the accident.

Your feedback is providing us with the opportunity to strive for service excellence and your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Kind regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location right at the airport, so it's perfect for staying over after a long flight, or if you are on business. Great staff, lovely rooms, huge and comfy beds, surprisingly (totally) quiet for its proximity o the airport, and amazing food in their restaurant (try the t-bone steak!). The staff is super friendly and anything can be taken care of (they even sent a driver to get me toothpaste, deodorant and washing powder.
I will always stay here when I am passing through Jo'burg.
Only thing is that their rooms could be ZAR100-200 cheaper per night. I don't think they are the best value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Charles C,

We were most pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that the great location and security was a complementing element. As you might be aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently and for that reason I would like to thank you for your kind words.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My Fiancee and i stayed at this hotel on our way to Zimbabwe.
I must admit, we were chuffed at how close this hotel was to the Airport! The location is perfect. The complimentary shuttle to and from the Airport was fantastic. The driver was very friendly and
the hotel itself was lovely! Very clean and stylish. Comfortable beds in very decent sized guest rooms.
The price was our reason for staying at Protea. But i found it strange that although we pre paid for the hotel, we then had to pay additional tax when we were checking in.
My grumble with the hotel is that the service wasn't that great. We didn't feel welcome at all and it always felt like we were interrupting the staff. On the night we were staying, we decided to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. When we went to pay at the counter, we waited for almost 10 minutes to be attended to.
I don't like to leave average feedback but unfortunately i did in this instance.
With that said, i wouldn't stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels in the Airport vicinity that would be better and more welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyleGraciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear LyleGraciel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the poor dining experience and shortfall in our service levels. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard as all GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they are. We have done training with all our STAFF in February and can assure we are focused on giving the best GUEST service.

The TEAM and I were most pleased to hear that your stay in the room was comfortable and that you were happy with the shuttle service. It really is amazing to receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS and we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back so that we can deliver the service you so rightfully deserve.

Kind Regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $94 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing