We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Enjoyed My Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I Enjoyed My Stay!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was an overnight stop as I had to go to Bloemfontein but it was a nice place to spend the night. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was an evening check-in but the service was prompt.

The beds were comfortable and even though it is situated close to the airport, there was no noise to keep me wake. I did not use a shuttle but had contracted with AVIS car service to get around in South Africa so I don't know if there were delays or not as mentioned in some of the posts here.

Did not eat, so can't comment on the food either. The room does have the shower with a glass partition inside the room where one sleeps. I really wanted a room with a bathtub after being on the plane for more than 18 hours, but she told me they were on the smoking floor so I passed on that. I don't know if all are located on the smoking floor or if the one available that night was on the smoking floor but it is something you can inquire about when booking or checking in.

Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear worldtraveler68926 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on 'tripadvisor'. This is very much appreciated. We were delighted to read that your experience all round was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Gawie Nel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    471
    177
    82
    25
See reviews for
86
400
124
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have been staying at the Protea Hotel-OR Tambo for the past 2 years and it has been a fantastic experience. From the efficient shuttle service, the hotel staff, the rooms, etc...i would rate it all "Excellent". I usually stay there when on business trips and i really feel at home. Being a frequent visitor, i became familiar with the staff and they always seemed to maintain that high level of customer service. I love staying there.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Good morning Richard K,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the shuttle to the hotel service was excellent. Staff was more than willing to help and they were professional in doing so. Room was Excellent with the view to the airport. Watched flights taking off. I will go back therE again but for coffee loving people like me there must be morE sugars placed in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear cimento,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Kind Regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
338 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night here at the start of a long holiday. Although it is a airport hotel, you can't walk to the airport as it is on the other side of the freeway. The hotel has a pleasing, modern and quite unique design. The rooms are new and of a high standard with all amenities, very clean. The service levels however do not match this and are poor. On checking out early in the morning I paid cash to the reception clerk for my extras. The hotel then phoned my family and accused us of not paying. They deducted the extras again from my credit card. Clearly they have dishonest staff issues so be warned.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are of a good standard. There is nothing to see outside, so it does not matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MORREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Morrey,

Thank you for all your help and taking my calls!
I would once again like to apologize most sincerely for the unacceptable service experience. This truly does not reflect the high standard which the PH OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.
However, I am very pleased that we were able to resolve the concerns.
Thanking you again for your constructive criticism.

Hope to see you soon!


Kind regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am only posting this to warn fellow travellers. Despite confirming my reservation on phone two hours prior to checking in and paying for the room in advance, I was met with a blank look and 'sorry we don't have have a room for you' when I landed up at this hotel. The rudest people possible at check-in, I was greeted with a blank stare and they happily suggested I should go to another hotel which they would escort me to and were not bothered about the fact that i was travelling alone and didn't want to faff around to various hotels at night. After much fighting, they gave me a handicapped room which was unplesant and with no remote control for the television. Needless to say I left for my connecting flight a couple of hours earlier that necessary. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shikhamishra08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Good day Ms Mishra,

With reference to your recent comment on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the management at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport , we would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

We can assure you that this matter has been investigated and that our TEAM has taken the appropriate action to rectify the shortcomings in our service. I have sent your apology letter to Mandy from Gta travel a day after you departed as I was advised about your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how you experience our service. Your comments have reached the attention of all involved and have assisted us in creating a commitment to ensure that situations such as these do not arise in the future.
Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any further assistance.

Yours sincerely


Gawie Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Despite an email confirmation of booking they had the wrong date and blamed us - 45 minutes later they were still debating which room to give us. Checking out the next day they tried to overcharge for the room rate (unfortunately for them I had my copy of the email booking). Generally very unpleasant checkin staff.

Evening meal consisted of tough dry fish which we waited 50 minutes for.

In summary the worst hotel experience we have encountered anywhere in the world. Never again !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear KingDin

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not manage to exceed your every expectation. I assure you that we will make work of the aspects of our operation that need attention and I certainly hope you will provide us another opportunity in future to show you that we took your comments to heart and improved as a result of them!

Thank you again and best regards.


Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

had a 10 hour lay over pick this hotel cause it was close to the airport so we could rest and shower. Friendly staff , shuttle is kinda so so.. I wanted to do the flight simulator they had but it was turned off. Maybe another time.

Room Tip: Tip, if you arrive early try emailing or contacting the hotel a few days beforehand asking if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear KingDin,

Thank you so much for your comments!
We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing