We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool looking hotel. Clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“cool looking hotel. Clean rooms”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

had a 10 hour lay over pick this hotel cause it was close to the airport so we could rest and shower. Friendly staff , shuttle is kinda so so.. I wanted to do the flight simulator they had but it was turned off. Maybe another time.

Room Tip: Tip, if you arrive early try emailing or contacting the hotel a few days beforehand asking if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear KingDin,

Thank you so much for your comments!
We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    478
    179
    82
    25
See reviews for
89
405
124
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We reached Johannesburg on 18th noon and our flight to CapeTown was early next morning so we had booked a room here for a night.
The good thing was that they have a free airport shuttle available that is scheduled once every hour till 11pm (from airport to hotel). The hotel itself is just 5-8 mins drive from the airport.
The hotel's interior is good. The room was decent enough and clean. I did not like the table top wash basin as the water wasn't draining fast enough. The bath room is not a separate locked room but is a part of the room with glass partition so take care when splashing :) The staff is good and friendly and are ready to provide info on places to visit , if you have time to kill.
The best thing I liked about this place was the breakfast. Absolutely great.
We had a good time and would recommend this place for anyone having to stay overnight in JNB.
Do note that if you arrive after 11pm local time, you will not get the free shuttle to the hotel. A taxi might cost around 150-200 rands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nizantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Nizantz,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!


Kind regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okahandja
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was a very nice looking Hotel. Unfortunately nobody informed us that you can only book in @ 14H00 in the afternoons... we arrive early and had to wait a long time in the bar area with no service...., but the Hotel is very nicely design and the rooms are OK....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Christo S,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not manage to exceed your every expectation. I assure you that we will make work of the aspects of our operation that need attention and I certainly hope you will provide us another opportunity in future to show you that we took your comments to heart and improved as a result of them!

Thank you again and best regards.

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've been at this hotel on 03.03.2012 for a short break between flight connections.
The room is quite spacious and pleasant. Excellent cleaning. It's just a little strange that the shower was in the middle of the room and not in a separate locked area.
Negative points:
1) the bath towel to get delayed because, according to information received from the hotel was out of towels.
2) although there is a free shuttle service between airport and hotel and vice versa, the hotel did not inform me about the existence of this service when booking. I had to seek information directly from the help desk of the airport in order to locate the point of embarkation.
Overall, the hotel very pleased.
Diogo Alberto Avila dos Santos Silva.
cumbicao.blogspot.com - Dicas de Viagem

Room Tip: A nice room near to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiogoAvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear DiogoAvila,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your comments are highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced, regarding the concerns mentioned. These truly do not reflect the high standard which we are usually proud to offer. Your comments have been taken to heart and addressed.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you in assisting us to strive for service excellence.
Your interest and concern are much appreciated.


Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Arriving at 01.20 in the morning was guaranteed to be a bad start to my stay. Having eventually found the hotel bus stop the promised 24 hour shuttle service did not materialize and on getting through on the phone to the hotel was told I would have to find a taxi as there was no shuttle.

Once at the hotel the decor was somewhat disconcerting, I felt as though I was in a warehouseI The night staff was not overly friendly and I was given a room on the smoking floor (having requested non-smoking). The corridors are off-putting, that said the rooms themselves are very pleasant. Spacious, modern and clean.

Breakfast was a standard buffet. The dining room was exceptionally busy at 07.30 and at ZAR155, its not a cheap option!

Time your shuttle transfers carefully, as they only run every half hour and at peak hours the shuttle bus fills up very quickly. Transfer time is about 10 minutes and fortunately when departing you are dropped right outside the terminal doors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear SANDJAW,

We are in receipt of your Comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment you experienced due to our lack of Customer Service. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard. All GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our hotel TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they are.

We appreciate your bringing the shortcomings and problems you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. We can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and addressed with the people concerned, and that corrective action has been taken.
We continually strive to deliver excellent GUEST service and ongoing training will be done with all of our STAFF to address these matters.


Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while waiting for a flight to USA. Price was reasonable and hotel was very nice. Very upscale and trendy. Has an "airline" decor.

Room service food was good and fast. Breakfast buffet was standard and tasty.

Only minor issue I had was the shower drain was stopped up and water got onto floor. Maintenance quickly fixed it up.

5 minute drive from the airport and there are shuttles on the half hour.

Beware the porters at JNB airport asking for overpriced tips for minor services. I was asked for $20 USD for showing me where to catch my bus and hounded when I only gave him $3.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the airport apron. Get to see lots of A380's and 747's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear JustLooking24,

Thank you so much for your amazing comments!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport again soon.

We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards


Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Used a base while at some business meetings in the area. Hotel was easily accessible by rental car from the airport (if you knew where you were going). Room and bed was comfortable and spotless. Enjoyed drinks at the outside pool area which watching the aircraft traffic. Relaxed friendly bar-staff added to the atmosphere. Didn't dine in. Hotel decor theme is unusual and interesting.

It was a complimentary hotel taxi ride to the nearby Rhodesfield Gautrain station to get to Sandton.

Unusual drawback for an airport hotel was bad internal noise reduction. It was possible to hear noise from the adjoining room such as phone conversations, tea-stirring and bag zipping. I haven't noticed the same level from other hotels I've stayed at and it was a little irritating at 6am as guests with early flights etc prepared to check out. Also had an electrical failure in my room so couldn't watch TV or use my computer on the 2nd night.

Room Tip: Room-choice is front or back. My rooms at the front, on the same side as reception faced the park r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rye1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Rye1967,

We are in receipt of your Comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!


Kind regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing