We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Kudelstaart, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great hotel! The setting and airport-themed decoration is very nicely done. New, clean, friendly. Unfortunately we spend only 6 hours here, due to late arrival from Europe and early morning connecting flight to Windhoek. I can recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear IL76,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on 'tripadvisor'.
This is very much appreciated. We were delighted to read that your experience all round was such a positive one.

We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    477
    179
    82
    25
See reviews for
89
404
124
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed one night inbetween Kruger and Victoria Falls. Nice hotel (that you literally see from the plane as you park at the gate). Nothing special, but for the price paid was very good. Rooms clean, service good, reliable shuttle to airport, and had a nice dinner in the airplane-themed restaurant. If we had another layover I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwjillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear rwjillini,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Kind Regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel overnight on 2 separate occasions this week. It is bright and modern with a good restaurant. Nice pool area too. The staff are helpful and friendly. A welcome change from the normal airport hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight stay - convenient location to airport with a free shuttle. Room was nice, but towels and shower could have been cleaner. Restaurant food is just okay, but it is nice that they have outdoor tables overlooking the pool... it was a nice break from eating in a hotel restaurant. Nice airport hotel, but nothing special. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Brubs23,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport again soon.

We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Protea OR Tambo is 10mins away from the airport, through a complimentary shuttle service found behind the InterContinental Hotel OR Tambo as you exit the airport arrival terminal.

The hotel itself is a gem. The hotel boasts a modern, edgy design compared to the rest of the airport hotels available in the vicinity. It was truly affordable as well. Check-in was problem free and I was up on the top floor (Level 5) for a basic room just for an overnight stay. My room had the views of the aerobridges of OR Tambo where I caught sight of Lufthansa's and Air France's A380 parked right in front.

Rooms were clean, super comfortable and spacious for a 1-2 nights stay. The Emperor's Palace (casino and dining complex), was another 10mins away from the hotel costing 150 ZAR where you would find plenty of options for food, drinks and entertainment.

A note though. This is one hotel where transportation around for food and shopping can be a bit tricky. The hotel will usually insist using their own transport but it is also because you hardly see any taxis coming by. Be prepared for this.

Room Tip: Level 3 happens to be a smoking floor while the top floor, Level 5 has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimbostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Nimbostratus,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at the Protea Hotel only for one night on our way to Vic Falls from Cape Town. We got a great deal for R 1800,00 for 6 adults in 3 separate rooms, breakfast not included. Because of the cheap price, we thought that we were going to get small basic rooms, but instead we were surprised with well-equipped big rooms with a big bath and shower (one of the best showers I've used in my life). There is a nice swimming pool and the dinner we ate at the hotel was delicious ... big portions for a great price. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it is also very near to the airport and you get free shuttle service to and from.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear emerina_bakkes,


Thank you so much for your amazing review of the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Your support of our hotel is sincerely appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I´ve been to Prtotea Or Tambo in stopovers in Johannesburg and can say it is a good option to rest for hours. Good food, service and room. Quite noisy but ok. Very nice bed. Clean room. Access, even being close to OR Tambo is quite difficult and you do have to contact the reception to sent the shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Newton A,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Kind Regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing