We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience, something for the flying nut”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice experience, something for the flying nut”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The elevator has oxygen masks like the once onboard aircrafts, there is a "real" flight simulator in the lobby and y towels were folded like dogs on the bed. Who would not love this place? Very close to the airport, can actually se the terminal and boarding gates from the hotel bar. The restaurant was well above what you would expect from an airport hotel one. And breakfast was immacualte.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban-Sombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    470
    177
    82
    25
See reviews for
86
398
124
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here after arriving from out International flight to Johannesburg. The free airport shuttle was convenient and on time. We were only at the hotel for a little over 12 hours, but it was a very reasonable and comfortable airport hotel. The free internet was great too which allowed us to check in to our flight to Zambia the next day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTravelGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night after an international flight. You can always expect a certain level of service from Protea hotels and this is not exception. The room is not large. I believe most people don't stay long enough to unpack. The bed, TV, buffet dinner are all very nice. Cute little touches to make it feel like an airport hotel. Good choice if you need to overnight at JNB

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel en route from Zimbabwe to Cape Town. It was run very efficiently, the staff were helpful, the room was "state of the art", and the food was delicious. We would recommend the buffet at the evening meal where there was a wide choice for each course. The only negative was that, although we were given a slip to use the computer, there were only two computers and they were both playing up with the result that we couldn't access our email.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Similar experience with other Proteas- nice decor, clean, easy to do laundry, get a meal, park, etc. We used the shuttle at the airport to get to the location easily, just a 5-10 minute drive. My only complaint about this Protea is that the shower is inside the bedroom and there is no shower curtain. The design is beautiful but it might be a bit awkward if you were sharing a room with someone and wanted more privacy and space available to each person (ex. one person in shower/bathroom and one person in the room). If you are simply staying overnight while in transit, this probably isn't a problem.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We used this hotel before going on safari.Was a great hotel!

This hotel is aviation themed (with a flight simulator)and is quite slick and funky inside.

We were not here very long but it was enjoyable stay,room is very comfy,clean,has great shower.

The hotel also have a complimentary airport shuttle which was easy and quick

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Comfortable room, very modern and slick. Shame about the soundproofing-was woken by every person who walked past. No breakfast until 06.30, which wasn't any use to us as we were cheking out at 05.00. Receptionist said she would arrange a breakfast pack. That morning we had to ask three times for them. Finally the receptionist had to go to the kitchen to see what was happening. Dashed to the airport and checked in. Then sat down to tuck in to breakfast...wonder what goodies they had packed? What a disappointment! There was a ham, cheese and tomato sandwich (I don't like cheese but nobody checked my preference-but something like this for breakfast? Come on!), a few pieces of dried fruit in cling wrap, an under ripe pear, a bruised banana, a muffin, and a child sized carton of fruit juice! So for a four star hotel, this was clearly something of one star quailty!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robr55_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing