We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Johannesburg!”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Calling this place a hotel is doing it an injustice. It truly is a hidden gem. As soon as you enter the hotel, you feel transformed. It exudes serentiy and calm, and you immediately feel at peace. The details at this hotel are amazing. The rooms are beautifully and creatively decorated, the outdoor area is full of plants, the path to your room is lit by lanterns at night, and the food is delicious. The chef actually comes out at each meal to present you with the menu. At what other hotel does that happen? I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, especially if I wanted a place where I could completely relax. If you are looking for a place to stay that is unique and high quality, do not hesitate to stay at the African Rock Hotel. I feel very fortunate that I stumbled across this oasis. I only wish that I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 346 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned from the most incredible trip to South Africa, Victoria Falls and Namibia - cannot say enough about the wonderful time we had. Made even better by our stay at the African Rock Hotel in a gated community in Kempton Park in Jo'burg.

Actually, we stayed there 4 nights at separate times during our month long vacation - flying in from Canada, later from Zimbabwe and in the end from Namibia. It was like coming home time and time again.

Every detail was given attention - each room is individually gem-themed and decorated in an original and ever so comfortable way. The meals, created by Chef Christine, are exquisite. She visited each table before the meal to discuss the menu and wines. She even invited us into the kitchen to watch her and her assistants work (an interest of ours). We know that Food Network is doing some segments in South Africa. They might want to check her and the ARH out.

Each evening that we were there, one or the other (or both) owners - Otti and Zelda Meijer, came to our dining table to discuss how we were enjoying our stay in South Africa. We had the most intriguing discussions which we thoroughly enjoyed. But get this, they even told us that if we had any troubles while traveling in Africa to call them and they would help us out.

We also became fast friends of Musa. He was the driver that picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. Full of personality, Musa kept us in conversation with advise and interesting points about Jo'burg. After long flights he made the transitions so much easier. Interestingly enough, flights are monitored by the hotel so that they know actually when to pick you up.

Each person at the ARH treated us like family and we had the best of service from each and everyone. So thanks Collette, Carmen, Shanel, Christine, Orlando, Nomi, Gloria, TK, Daniel, Pfumelani, Nancy, Jimmy, James and Musa.

You would do yourself well to book into the African Rock Hotel if you are going to SA.

Andrew & Sarah Wenning
Nova Scotia, Canada

Room Tip: Loved the one off the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahawenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Andrew & Sarah,
Apologies for only responding now.
Every staff memeber here at the hotel has read your review, it is so good to see the reactions, they really feel appreciated for all the hard work they do.
It was an absolute pleasure having you both here and sharing your travel experiences with us every time you where back her between your adventures in southern and East Africa.
I am sure our paths will cross again somewhere out there. Keep well and many happy travels! Otti & Zelda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I just returned from a 12 night safari trip to South Africa where I spent the first night at African Rock Hotel before starting the safari.
I arrived on a red-eye flight at 9am and was very happy to find a room ready for me, hours before the usual check in time, at no extra cost. The room was very comfortable and the garden offered a peaceful place to relax after the flight.
The wine and the food at the hotel restaurant were simply delicious.
I highly recommend African Rock Hotel.

Room Tip: I was in room 9 (Quartz suite), very quiet, nice decor, big bed, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe64331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. When possible we will gladly accommodate early check in and or late check out at no charge. It is also possible to to get it confirmed on booking, also day rooms are on offer. We are a good and relaxing alternative for this service and have wellness treatments available as well.
I am glad we could contribute positively to your safari experience here in southern Africa.
Happy travels and we hope to see you again on your next safari! Otti Meijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved this hotel - a warm welcoming hotel which was perfect for our post-safari time in Joburg. We enjoyed Chef Christine's creations - and her engaging personality - immensely. Our one minor issue was that the locks on the room doors required a key to open from both exterior and interior directions. We would prefer more modern locks for both safety (in case of need for rapid egress) and convenience (particularly when several people with differing schedules share a room). This was a minor issue and we would be delighted to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your positive review. Noted your comments re lock/key, I will investigate the lock and handle options we have for our doors and see if we can improve on the current system for the type of doors we have. Happy travels from all of us here at ARH, Otti Meijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent three nights a a guest. It is a lovely, small hotel located behind security gates in Kempton Park near the airport. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. The decor, and I think I am coining a new phrase, is Afro-eclectic and pleasing to my eye. The staff is professional, dedicated and most helpful. The problem for me was that there is no easy way to get anywhere in Joburg. Part of the problem is the city itself. It is soooo spread out. The taxi system is complicated and there is no other mass transportation system available. The only option is private transportation which, while excellent, is quite expensive. The only restaurant in close proximity is located in the hotel. Food and service were very good but selections are limited.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi There, thank you for your review and valued remarks, and thank you for "Afro-eclectic" it sums up our interior decor pretty well, I think.
You are correct, Johannesburg is indeed sooo spread out and public transport is indeed complicated and not really suited to the majority of overseas visitors.
Regardless of where you stay in the greater Johannesburg area, road transfers, to and from the attractions, shopping centers, museums, industrial- and business-districts will have to be part of your planning.
We are located 10 km from the International Airport and offer a complimentary return transfer. The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood away from the busy airport precinct and the town center. We are more or less in the middle between Johannesburg and Pretoria with easy and quick highway access to either city center.
We can assist with the booking of city tours and excursions if requested. Most of the city tours are booked on a private basis, makes the cost higher but also the experience is a step up from the general group tours.
For the international business traveler we can offer good car rental rates. Budget is our car rental partner.
Our in-house petit restaurant, the Blue Hippo, is exclusively open to our guests, All the meals are prepared a la minute from fresh ingredients, therefor our selection is indeed select in relation to public restaurants.
Our Head Chef Christine is always open to special requests though, with our suppliers not too far away, she will be able to oblige with a little advance notice.
It was lovely having you stay here with us for a couple of days and we are looking forward to your visit during your next safari to Africa! Warm regards from all of us here at ARH!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thanks to MTBeds travel agent. We stayed for one night at this beautiful Guest House. Felt like home after a very long trip. Modern and very warm decor. We had a 3 course delicious dinner prepared by lovely Christine in her kitchen. Gloria was absolutely fantastic and helpful.
The best start in beautiful Southafrica. We were sorry to leave after only one night, we couldn´t enjoy the beautiful garden etc. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivitena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! it is much appreciated, Even though Chef Christine is praised on this platform often, she..... and we... welcome all the comments. For our new duty manager Gloria, this is a scoop and it makes her friendly smile even bigger and adds more sparkles to her eyes!!
Tank you once again, it certainly means a lot!! Otti Meijer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived in J'berg for a one night stay and this hotel was quite a find. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful and the staff was top notch. Our chef, T.K., made us a wonderful lunch and dinner that was perfect in every way! I was sorry to leave after only one night and would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in J'berg for one night or one week! Thank you for such a sweet start to our amazing three week trip to South Africa!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here in our part of the World and that we could contribute to your "amazing" 3 week holiday.
Chef TK is proud to be mentioned by name, it is good for all of us to keep up the service and keep on improving where required. Happy Travels .. Otti Meijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,494 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,450 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
809 reviews
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $245 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing