We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Wonderful”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We only stayed one night as this was a short stop to our final destination. The hotel was about a 20 minute drive from the airport in a gated community where we felt very safe. We arrived about 10:00 at night and were wound up after an 11 hour flight from Amsterdam. We were greeted with champagne and snacks and after putting our baggage in our rooms, settled down in from of the outdoors fireplace for drinks and more snacks. We met with the owners who chatted with us for awhile and were told the staff would stay as long as we wanted and to not feel bad about keeping them up because they would receive overtime pay and this is what they do. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast and did a little shopping before our early departure. I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

African Rock Hotel was recommended to us while we were in Kenya on Safari. We were greeted at the airport by the hotel's driver Terrance, a knowledgeable person who was very interesting to listen too. The hotel is situated in Kempton Park in a gated community which feels very secure, about 15 minute drive from the airport. The hotel is everything you need plus more when coming back from a three week Safari, an intimate hotel of only 9 rooms with all the mods and cons you need to relax those safari bones. The chef Christine is a delight, her food is brilliant and I hope she enjoyed the book I gave her. The host's were lovely and chatted to you with a welcome smile.

Highly recommend ARH for your transit stop over's to and from your required destinations in Africa.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own unique quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrymull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently spent five nights at African Rock Hotel, where I was treated with all the warmth and consideration of family. The owners are very much on site and attentive to every detail. The staff members are eager to please and gracious in every respect. I really put the hotel to the test when my husband became ill en route there. The owners organized his admission to the hospital and stayed with me for hours. They arranged for my transportation each day and visited the hospital on occasion. Each night, I was welcomed back to my lovely room, a wonderful dinner (Chef Christine is a jewel), and companionship by the camp fire. African Rock would have been a treat under normal circumstances; with my special needs, it was absolute salvation!

Room Tip: There are nine rooms, a few of which are a bit larger with larger bathrooms. Enjoy the full dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our tour company booked us for one night here, in route to our final destination. We were NOT disappointed. This hidden gem is the exact type of place we love to stay at. Owners on site; great staff, clean and beautiful accommodations. The best was the dinner. Chef Christine came out and explained her menu of the evening, along with suggested wine parings. We were not disappointed. There is some great art work done by one of the owners, placed within the hotel. Breakfast was a treat! Sure hope to stay here again in the future. Its really not that far from the airport. Sure, there may be closer hotels but nothing to this degree of beauty and comfort, plus you don't have all the "road noise" that is common to hotels right at the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haaland0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Unique and distinctive. The rooms are tastefully done and the bath is extravagant. The meals are expensive and not much choice. As tourists in transit we were looking for a place to put our heads down and maybe see a bit of the city, the travel agent booked us here thinking we'd be close to the airport but its not that close.

Room Tip: Not your average hotel. You really must stay here if you want the hotel to be your whole experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We travelled fromthe United States to Jberg and stayed one night at African Rock. The atmosphere was comfortable yet intimate. It was the perfect place to relax and lay our weary heads down after a long flight, Both dinner and breakfast were excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the African Rock for 2 nights - a lovely start to our holiday. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the shower was fantastic. We had lunch served by the pool as it was a very warm day and then relaxed on the lounge chairs. They made a huge effort in the evenings with the atmosphere in the dining room - lit by candlelight and the chef always came out to explain what was on the menu that evening. A good selection of wines too. Breakfast was great too.Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kampbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,440 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,435 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
796 reviews
4.3 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
3 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 27 in Kempton Park
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $275 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing