We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient stay with nice breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, convenient stay with nice breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband, four-month old baby, and I stayed in one room, and my parents stayed in another. It was very satisfactory and I found it to be very good value for money this time. The only negative things I have to say are that the staff was very confused about our two reservations (and kept giving me things addressed to my father's name) and did not seem to have received our earlier request for a crib (even though I received an email saying that my requested had been noted.) The check-in experience was a little slower than it could have been, but we would definitely stay there again. I think we paid about $111/room, which included breakfast for two.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    226
    109
    20
    12
See reviews for
110
139
23
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

It is slightly difficult to get to the Hotel shuttle bus which departs from the Coach terminal at the rear of the Intercontinental Airport hotel but only because you have to go down an escalator (or lift) to get under the departures roadway and then back up an escalator on the other side so you can’t keep your baggage trolley with you. We had to do this twice during our trip and each time we found a replacement trolley at the top of the escalator again. The wait for the shuttle bus is not long and the bus trip is all of 10 minutes.

The Hotel is an old building that has been refurbished. The rooms are large and have a comfortable king size bed, comfy big pillows, an old but very efficient Air conditioner and you can shut the light out completely. There are also Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom is also large.

We dined in the Restaurant for dinner and it was quite a fun place, a little bit like a Wild West steak house – not normally our scene but a bit of a novelty for one night. The food was nice rather than fantastic. The service was excellent and there were plenty of waiting staff. Breakfast the next morning was taken in a dining room near reception and it was unexpectedly comprehensive with a huge choice and very good well prepared food. We walked outside to the swimming pool and both thought it would be a nice Hotel if you had a day to kill to just relax around the pool.

Only negatives were a fussy electronic room key but once you mastered the action needed (slower than normal) to swipe the card it was OK and getting stuck in the right lift on our way to check out the next morning. Both these items I suspect were not included in the hotel refurbishment. All in all a good Hotel at a good price close to O.R. Tambo Airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Stayed one night at the Garden Court at the airlines expense when SAA flight to London was cancelled. Rooms are very basic with no controllable air conditioning. Location is not good as it is well away from the terminal buildings. Worst of all is the food which was virtually inedible. Not a pleasant way to end a tour of South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We reached jo'burg at 8p.m and there was a free shuttle to take us to the hotel. Good clean rooms with all the basic amenties . comfortable and close to Airport, so if you are catchign a morning flight next day- its good

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I booked for a business trip, good comfort level , restaurent and services were fantistic

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Didnt want to leave. Perfect service and clean! Nice women

Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EricM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

But it was a nice hotel, 3 star quality, good size rooms. tea and coffee but no fridge. Pool ok but cold and no gym.
Breakfast is good, the star of the show is Billy who greeted us with a friendly smile every day and seemed to be the only member of staff who noticed we'd been there several days. In fact on our last day he shook our hands, wished us a safe trip and said he hoped not to see us tomorrow:-) Brilliant. Two restaurants - Spur steak house and McGintys Irish bar, food good in both but after 3 night we needed to go elsewhere for a break of scene. Having spent 5 nights in the hotel waiting for a flight back I'd say it's fine for a stop-over - 1 or 2 nights at most.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Property: Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing