We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and efficient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived late to the hotel, the restaurant was already closed as well as the bar but the staff organised a burger and fries from the airport Mug & Bean for us as well as a whiskey from the bar.
Rooms are clean, quiet and not tacky at all. Really good for an airport hotel that sees much traffic.

Room Tip: Any room away from the service entrances / elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    226
    109
    20
    12
See reviews for
110
139
23
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casinalbo, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel in general is comfortable and nice.
I had spent one week and it was very quite.
The restaurant is very big and there are a lot food and the price is cheaper.
In the hotel there is a swimming pool. Next time I will want try it.
The staff of this hotel is friendly and professional.
In general no problem.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Enrico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked into the Garden Court hotel for 1 night only as we had a party close to the venue and didn’t want to drive back to our house after the party.

The location from the airport is a bit far, but they do have shuttles that run to the airport every 15minutes (I think – but check with them). Our check-in lady was very friendly and we were sorted out immediately. The hotel is neat and clean. Probably not the freshest interiors, but nothing that will bother you. The room was big enough, and we did like the walk-in shower in the bathrooms. As most small hotel rooms normally don’t have this. What I find as very good customer service is that after the first 5 minutes in our room, we received a phone call from reception to ask if everything was good in our room. It was pleasant surprise from a hotel like this.

The bed and room was very neat and clean with everything working perfectly. We had no complaints. Breakfast the following morning was also the standard buffet breakfast with the standard hotel choices, but was tasty and service was done with a smile.

I really can’t fault this hotel on anything as all was good for a standard Airport hotel, and we had no complaints. Except maybe for the R40 per day parking that you have to pay as resident for using the hotel’s parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
My Sincere Thanks to you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. I am pleased to read that were able to meet the majority of your expectations of our Hotel and would like to thank you for your constructive criticism as this will help us improve on the High Standard we have set ourselves.

Our guest courtesy calls are a staff driven initiative which I am pleased to see is making an impact, thank you for the words of appreciation, I have shared this with our team.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

During my most recent trip to South Africa I stayed here on two separate occasions- and was glad that I did!

As I was travelling solo with large amounts of luggage I arranged for a 'meet and greet' at the airport. Staff were punctual and very helpful while I converted my money etc. It was definitely worth spending that extra bit of money for the convenience.

Check-in was very simple and informative. Staff pointed out all facilities- including day spa at the sister hotel and a shuttle service that would take me there. Spa was very reasonably priced.

I booked the Superior Room and was glad that I did. Room was fresh and looked like it had been recently renovated. The mattress and pillows were of high quality also. I had no issues with wi-fi and found that it was a very fast connection from my room. The room looked nothing like the one in the photos I can see on the page. Perhaps, photos need to be updated as they're much better in person!

I didn't have a chance to visit the pub instead opting for Room Service. Food was wonderful, however it was only warm and not hot. More vegetarian options would have also been nice.

Bathroom was spacious and throughly cleaned. However, there was a constant flow of water in the toilet which was a little bit annoying at night when I was trying to sleep. I did not mention this to staff as it wasn't a huge deal and I wasn't wanting to room move.

Breakfast wasn't anything special. Service was average and food once again was rather cold, like it had been sitting there all morning. However, I was in the restaurant just before the closing time.

Staff were very professional. I required a late check out of 3pm and this was not a issue at all for staff. I wasn't even charged a late check out fee which most hotels ask for.

I didn't have my room key re-coded and found myself locked out of my room. After asking housekeeping if they could quickly let me in to get my bags out they told me to go down to reception as they weren't allowed to let me back in. Many may see this as a con, however it was great to see that staff were following hotel security procedures and not letting people into rooms that may not necessarily be theirs.

I will definitely be returning on my next trip to South Africa.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a pool view room if you are after a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekor Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
My Sincere Thanks to you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. I am pleased to read that were able to meet the majority of your expectations of our Hotel and would like to thank you for your constructive criticism as this will help us improve on the High Standard we have set ourselves.

I have taken careful note of your comments regarding your food temparture experiences and have adressed these with our Kitchen Management team.. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while waiting to fly back from Joburg to Manchester. The hotel and rooms are only average and just like any other airport hotel. However, the staff make up for all of this, as they are so friendly and happy to help at any time. We especially liked the staff at the hotel Irish pub - Rosie O'Gradys where we ate every night. The food was also really good with Guiness on tap, yum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie211088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care.

I have read your comments with great Pride and assure you that I will convey your feedback and comments to our team. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been to this hotel around 5 times now , as the years have gone on the place is looking rundown , however it is clean .The rooms are quite small so with your luggage it's very cramped also the bed was small .Service was very good the buffet breakfast is excellent again in Rosie O'Gradys service was on and off food was not very good . Free service bus is a bonus .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
My Sincere Thanks to you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. I am pleased to read that were able to meet the majority of your expectations of our Hotel and would like to thank you for your constructive criticism as this will help us improve on the High Standard we have set ourselves.

I have taken careful note of your comments regarding the condition of our rooms and can assure you we are already in the process of improving our product and offering. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Together with my family, I stayed here on two occasions prior to flights to and from JNB. The free airport shuttle service is very good, as a driver was waiting for us after our international flight. The on-site pub is good for a casual meal, as is the buffet - especially for breakfast. A minor irritation is the lack of a queing system at the front desk, as they allow people to jump in due to the lay-out. The rooms are of an acceptable standard, although we did pay more for a slight upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser-0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and appreciate your suggestion regarding our check out lines on a busy check out. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Property: Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing