We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Base for Southern Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Together with my family, I stayed here on two occasions prior to flights to and from JNB. The free airport shuttle service is very good, as a driver was waiting for us after our international flight. The on-site pub is good for a casual meal, as is the buffet - especially for breakfast. A minor irritation is the lack of a queing system at the front desk, as they allow people to jump in due to the lay-out. The rooms are of an acceptable standard, although we did pay more for a slight upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser-0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and appreciate your suggestion regarding our check out lines on a busy check out. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 604 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

So initially we thought there were a few positives.... It was clean, there was a pub so you could eat cheap food rather than paying extortionate hotel prices and a free shuttle bus from the airport but it soon went down hill.

The rooms are tiny and with two large suitcases in you trip over yourself. The bed is only a double and squashed between two bedside tables so feels very small.

The hotel is a dive from the airport, don't expect to be able to walk!

The things that really give it a score of 1 are:
- we were woken at 6.50am by someone ringing the wrong room for a wake up call- and no apology
- we were then woken again at 8 am by the cleaners wanting to get in and clean
- the cleaners then continued to bang around outside the rooms
- lastly and most importantly there was no water in the morning!!!! They had decided to shut it off for planned maintenance from 8am onwards and not bothered to tell us!!! We couldn't use the toilet, do our teeth, shower, clean etc- it was disgusting!
And we have no idea how the cleaners were able to clean the vacated rooms - I dread to think of the hygiene factor for the next guests....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My Sincere Thanks to you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. With this in mind, I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism as this will help us improve on the High Standard we have set ourselves. Please would you afford us an opportunity to change your perception of our hotel in the near future by providing me with a direct email or telephone number which I can contact you on?

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Close to the airport, this hotel is really for those looking for a one night stopover. There is a shuttle to and from the airport which makes it very convenient. The restaurant is a little souless and offers a buffet for both breakfast and dinner. The pub, attached to the hotel - Rosie O'Gradys, is a little more lively and the food is wholesome and well priced. I could definitely get used to the price of their beer at 19ZAR a pint £1,40!
The swimming pool is small and not very clean, so I was reluctant to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and appreciate your feedback regarding our facilities and services, particularly the reference to Rosie O Grady's food and beverage offering. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the staff to be very grumpy and unfriendly here. If you are just flying in and out stay here. I wish I had stayed in Sandton as we had a day to fill in and it is not easy to get into town from her as you have to catch a shuttle which you have to pay for and then a train to get anywhere. They also don't offer late checkout but do offer to store luggage.
Breakfast was good and the Irish pub was good for meals. Also has a nice pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and will address my team’s demeanour during your stay with the team members concerned. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had to overnight between flights at Johannesburg airport. The free shuttle worked fine and the room was perfectly adequate for one night. There are two eating choices: a buffet and a pub. We chose the pub and had an OK meal, not fine dining but appetising and reasonably priced. The Wifi worked well and was included in our package. Breakfast was also included but we left too early to take it so cannot comment on quality.

We have previously stayed at the Southern Sun hotel which is a short walk from the terminal, but it is greatly overpriced for a layover stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel, particularly that you were able to experience our value for money add on's through our breakfast, free shuttle and WIFI. We are particularly proud of our product offering and trust that in the future you will make use of our hotel again should you find yourself going through OR Tambo district.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here on two separate nights, either side of an excursion to Kruger. We were flying in from Port Elizabeth and flying out to Livingstone, so I was able to use their complimentary shuttle to and from the airport. They were also willing to store some of our luggage whist we were away on safari, which was very handy!
As for the hotel itself, the reception service was good, breakfast was full of choices and the service was good. The Irish bar was great in terms of quality of food and value......shame the service was a bit on the slow side.
The rooms were ok, perhaps a little tired. Our first room had been used by a smoker, although the hotel was non-smoking, but they quickly changed our room.
I would certainly recommend the hotel for it's location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care.

I have read your survey with great pride and assure you that I will convey your comments to our team. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on four separate occasions on our trip to Africa and it is a good hotel with a reliable half hourly shuttle to the airport
The rooms are fine and room 107 had a quiet air conditioner and walking down the stairs to reception. The breakfast has plenty of choices and the staff are friendly and efficient. Yes the pillows are a bit hard as reported elsewhere but the plusses greatly outweigh the cons for this hotel.The cost is reasonable
There is a Irish Bar which has reasonable food

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. I have read your survey with great pride and assure you that I will convey your comments to our team, particularly how we consistently delivered on each of your stays. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $97 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing