We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Option when needing a bed between flights.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Option when needing a bed between flights.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We did not have a reservation at O.R.Tambo Airport but after walking into the InterContinental and ... $400 USD later ... we decided on the Garden Court for 1/4 the price. For starters GREAT shuttle from the Airport to the Hotel every 30 minutes. Efficient, clean, fast ... a great first impression. The front desk was likewise very helpful and accommodating. They have a great Irish Restaurant and while the food was so-so, the service and the beverages were definitively divine. The room carpet (#136) was worn and old and needs replacement. That's the only complaint I have. The Hotel buffet restaurant (for Dinner) was excellent with Maitre d' 'Mr.Surprise' being an superb host. Breakfast buffet was equally tasty and well done. Unfortunately as we repeatedly visit South Africa, we find that the 'Americanization" of the breakfast is taking a hold. We hope that the Hotel management can withstand and continue to present locally grown and authentic South African food.
If you need a room at the Johannesburg Airport this is a great find.

Room Tip: We loved the corner room #136, albeit a new carpet would improve this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staywme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel, it is great to see we met the majority of your expectations and I will ensure that your valued criticisms are shared with our team so that we can find ways to better improve on our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    227
    109
    21
    12
See reviews for
112
141
23
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clevedon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Maybe due to reviews or comments by guests - who knows, but the hotel has been freshened up with decoration, though some car pets still need replacing - stairs particularly, but these impro0vements have improved the hotel to reinforce my decision to keep staying there.

The staff are very helpful and cheerful bearing in mind they operate an airport hotel that is busy all the time.....The Irish bar - Rose O Grady's food excellent.....look forward to staying here again in June!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool - even quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am most pleased to see you have noticed some of our latest improvements, without your feedback we would not be able to make those improvements and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with me and my team. Have you had a chance to make use of our FREE WIFI yet? Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Garden Court is located an easy 5 minutes from the International airport, in a relatively quiet area, despite the traffic from both air and road. The Hotel,is very reasonable and newly decorated. Meals both in the restaurant and Irish bar/pub are good and varied. Rooms are quite well appointed and the showers are great, hot water not a problem. The Hotel has a decent pool and large grass area to sit outside. The Hotel is far enough away from the airport to avoid feeling you are staying at an airport, yet near enough to avoid the nightmare traffic at peak times ie. 7.30-9.15 am and about 4.00-6.00pm NB getting in to Joburg am and out pm.
A great one night pre or post long-haul flight or longer, if visiting Soweto etc.

Room Tip: There is a lift, but the corridors are long, so ask to be nearer to lifts/elevators, if mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for you very valued and positive feedback. Its particularly great to see that our product met your expectations and we trust we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near furture.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Garden Court OR Tambo hotel is situated near the airport, overlooking the motorway approaching the airport complex. There is a an airport shuttle - all the websites and advertising suggest that the shuttle, but it seems what they mean is “free for checkin or checkout shuttle” and should you wish to use the shuttle at any other time, then it’s ZAR42 per person per journey - so not completely free! The shuttle operates about every 30 minutes and takes approx 10-15 minutes. Beware - the shuttle times published on the hotel website are out of date! The hotel has parking - chargeable at ZAR40 per day, accessed using room keycard. The hotel is “as the crow flies” not too far from the Rhodesfield Gautrain station, but the reception staff advise against walking to the station (not safe). The hotel is located in an industrial area and there are no local amenities except for the adjacent Zenex service station, which has a basic shop.

Checkin was quick and relatively painless (except we had two separate bookings for two consecutive nights and we were made to check out and check back in again and pay separately!). There always seems to be ample front desk staff and no need to wait. The main reception leads on to the Irish pub, the buffet restaurant, the meeting rooms and the pool area.

This hotel has been around since the sixties but has recently been refurbished. We had a first floor family size room that accommodated two double beds and a cot bed. The beds and pillows are comfortable. The aircon is the old split unit type and rather noisy. Strange curtain setup to fit around the aircon unit. The room did have a balcony and a door, but the door was locked! LCD television. Plug socket that takes european/british plugs is handy. Loads of cupboard space and a digital safe.

The bathroom is the most impressive aspect of the refurb... looks new with smart floor tiles, a shower curtain that bows out and lots of space. Good shower water pressure and temperature.

We had two room service meals (served from the Irish pub kitchen) - the cheese and bacon burgers were amazing and excellent value, sadly the “Club Sandwich” was a bit peculiar - being served on a baguette and drowned in rich cheese! The Irish pub menu has a wide selection of choices and the prices are fair.

The breakfast buffet is included in the room rate and is well worth it - extensive selection of hot and cold items - including omelettes made to order. Breakfast staff very helpful and friendly.

This hotel offers no free wireless internet They do offer wireless access via 3rd party provider AlwaysOn and it’s not cheap. Best value seems to be for their most expensive packages, otherwise it’s ZAR50 for 1 hour - what a rip off!

The hotel has a fair sized pool, just off reception. It’s outdoor and not heated. The water was a bit chilly for a swim in late April!

A good choice for an airport stopover hotel, seemed expensive for what it was - but that reflects a lack of local competition. Two things they need to fix: genuinely free airport shuttle service and free wifi!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel. I have taken careful note of your comments regarding some of the areas of your experience which could have been improved. I am pleased to inform you that as of 1 June 2013 the hotel will have free wifi to all in house guests which should ease some of those additional costs you mentioned. We are also in the process of replacing our split aircon units and our family rooms are first on the list.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Court before and after our Nomad tour, as did many of our fellow travellers. The food is very good indeed and excellent value for money and the serving staff are charming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the hotel is modern. We used the free shuttle to and from the airport. All very convenient. The hotel concierge arranged excursions for us both days and even secured a discount for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were picked up from the O.R.Tambo by the shuttle bus and taken to the hotel,once there it was a quick check in.The room itself was spacious and comfortable,we then nipped down to the bar which happened to be still open at 11pm.The breakfast was help yourself but was fantastic,tea and coffee brought to your table!! We then checked out again with the shuttle bus taking us back to the airport to pick up the hire car!! I really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. . It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Mana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had three overnight stays at Garden Court, flying in and out of Johannesburg to other parts go Africa. The hotel is ideally located, 5 minutes from the airport and the shuttle bus service is great, even provided service for midnight arrival. Enjoyed the breakfast with the chef cooking eggs to order. We ate at the Irish pub and couldn't believe how cheap it was, equivalent of $28 aus for two big mains, wine and a beer. The staff were friendly, organizing a late check out for a late flight was no problem, the rooms were spotless and the grounds were pretty and well maintained. I would stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandAseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care.

I have read your comments with great Pride and can assure you that I will convey your comments to our team. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Property: Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing