We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Rest & Reorganize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
www.tripadvisor.com
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Place to Rest & Reorganize”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When arriving from a long trip from the USA via London to Johannesburg, we were advised to stay overnight at a hotel in Johannesburg before catching our next flight to Richard's Bay to begin our week long safari. We booked into the Garden Court as it was off the airport premises and we had read good reviews on trip advisor. They also offer free shuttle to and from the airport and there is a restaurant in the hotel as well as an Irish Pub that is separate from the hotel but attached.

The hotel sent clear directions regarding their shuttle and it was easy to find. The hotel is not posh but it is clean and quiet and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. When our luggage didn't arrive, they were cautious to advise us where to shop and insisted that we use the hotel shuttle so the driver could drop us off and pick us up when we called his cellphone. Our safety was a concern to them. They also assisted us with multiple calls to the airport to locate our luggage as it was hard to understand the various dialects.

The hotel food was adequate but the service was exceptional. Everyone in the dining room wanted to make us comfortable. We recommend the Irish Pub for dinner as the food is very good and the portions are very filling.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Johannesburg as they genuinely cared about our well being!

Room Tip: Notify the hotel of any specific concerns when booking and send followup emails with requests for ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. One of the things I am most proud about when it comes to our team is their willingness to get involved in every aspect of making a guests stay enjoyable and memorable and I am particularly happy to hear that our team was supportive and offered assistance at a time when you needed it. It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours In Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    232
    111
    24
    12
See reviews for
114
145
23
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A comfortable and quiet hotel in which to stay after a long flight. Only about a 10 minute drive on a shuttle bus from the airport, the rooms are spotless, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast is plentiful. Everything about the hotel is above average, except for poor wifi. The meals in the Irish restaurant are good and reasonably priced. Fully recommended for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel. Since your stay we have upgraded our WIFI system, hopefully you will return in the near future so that you may try our new system out and find it a big improvement on your last stay.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Garden Court OR Tambo International Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokopane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Why stay at Garden Court OR Tambo, Well, great service, clean rooms and best of all friendly helpful staff.
Even though the eating area was buffet style, the food was excellent and well presented. The conference facilities were top class.

One thing though i think they should look at is the WiFi accessibility throughout the hotel, the signal was really bad on the third floor.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room, I had a great view of the pool area and the city horizon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duanecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and appreciate your feedback regarding our wireless signal. We have our IT team looking into the signal strength.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Garden Court OR Tambo International Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is about a 5-10 minutes away from the airport, and the hotel provides a shuttle service every 30 minutes. The rooms are well proportioned, clean and comfortable. The pricing is moderate for the convenience and proximity to the airport. The breakfast is above average. The only complaint is that internet is not provided, and the charge is somewhat expensive. Whilst I was visiting, the wifi was not working in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_ian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel. During your stay we were upgrading our wireless network and had a number of valley periods when the signal dipped. I apologise for the inconvenience and trust that should you stay with us in the future you find our signal strength much improved.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Garden Court OR Tambo International Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is very near to the airport, has a shuttle service and is quiet despite being near the airport. A nice pool and loungers to chill out. A good choice if you need to stay near the airport.
If you want to go into Jo'burg it is quite a distance and a taxi is your best bet, particularly if you want to visit the Apartheid Museum, it is well worth going there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcatsbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and I am glad that you were able to visit the Apartheid Museum during your stay, the experience is one I am sure you will carry with you forever.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Garden Court OR Tambo International Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a pleasant stay while transiting a night at Tambo airport. Clean rooms and good amenities with free shuttle service to and from the airport in 30 min intervals.

Ordered a 24-day aged Fillet Steak and it was one of the best ones in all my 20 days in SA. Tender and juicy. The ribs are also commendable.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms with the walk-out balcony, large enough to set a table for a private room service di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBJ_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel. The steaks at our pub are one of our biggest selling items and we are particularly proud to hear that your experience was the best in RSA.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours In Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Garden Court OR Tambo International Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Wa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed at the OR Tambo Garden Court during all of our visits to South Africa, either right after arriving from long flights from Europe or America, or the night before we are catching a flight back to the USA. The staff has always been friendly and helpful, and the rooms have very recently been renovated and are very comfortable, the pricing is moderate and appropriate for this hotel. The buffet dinner and breakfasts are above average, and a shuttle to and from the airport is available on a regular schedule throughout the day from very early morning until late night. We will choose The Garden Court again.

Room Tip: The Double Queen or the King sized deluxe rooms are nice. WiFi is available in all rooms on the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normana53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Property: Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing