We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Garden Court for 1 night before our flight to Mauritius and found it to meet our needs. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed large and comfy. We were on honeymoon and we were very pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in the room. We really didn't expect this and it was a lovely touch.

The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient.

The free airport shuttle was also very useful and saved us needing to organise a taxi.

I would stay here again if I was ever needing a stopover at Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SC79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 639 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you need to stay for a night at Johannesburg airport, this hotel is fine. The hotel offers a shuttle service between airport and hotel and the Irish Pub offers reasonable food and drinks. The breakfast is extensive as it should be in such a hotel. Not for romance, but on a business trip it offers you a good night rest.

Note: the hotel belongs to the Southern Sun chain, not Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfd_groningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

In general an old dated hotel with nothing to remember it by.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

hotel is OK, service is a bit like listening to an automated message and the charm of the staff has alot to be desired as far as customer training is concerned i get the feeling that the hospitality sector in Joburg has much to learn. Upside the hotel is clean, close to the airport, the shuttle bus operates from just a few metres from teh airport - remember the pick up is free but the drop off is charged at 40ZAR per person (another hidden cost that they dont tell you about is that the parking is not free, so if you have a car and are staying prepare to pay 30ZAR per day for it to sit in the car park). The rooms are comfortable, thankfully the weather wasnt too warm while we were there, as the AC is the room is quite ancient (circa something from the late 80's as per most of SA), it works and is functional - rooms are comfortable and the hotel is clean (lots of hot water ... a miracle seeing that this is achieved when one considers how much water costs in SA!!). The hotel breakfast is included in teh price and is very very good, here again staff service is second rate compared to other hotels of this size, but at least they are trying. The hotel has a Spur restaurant (not quite my thing but its part of a chain in SA and if you feel like a burger and chips in a nice(ish) sit down location its OK (definately not as good as Johnny Rockets through)..plus point, the Irish Pub - great food, service is not so good, beer and guiness good, good selection of wine (pretty pricey for what you get but hey thats SA for you) and free wifi in the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastLondonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

hotel has a shuttle to airport every 30 min. Rooms are bigger than metcourt hotel, 2 double beds. Looks like a standard motel room. Have a pub and a basic restaurant in hotel.
would stay again for 1 night but not if I had much time to spend. Breakfast (decent) is included.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here unexpectedly after a flight delay meant I missed my connection. Although the shuttle service from the airport is a bit chaotic (there is no information in the airport station) - the hotel cannot be blamed for that. They checked me in efficiently and quickly (despite the fact I arrived on a bus full of passengers who, like me, were being accommodated courtesy of the airline. The rooms are functional and clean, with comfortable beds. Internet is available at cost, although there is one computer in the lobby. There is an Irish pub which serves food and Spur (a steakhouse chain), and buffet breakfast is included. I would happily stay here again on a transit stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A really nice hotel with good facilities. Staff are kind & friendly.

The food is good at both eateries. The Irish pub had plenty of choice, the variety of pies are very tasty.

The only problem is with the water temperature. The shower was exceptionally hot and difficult to get a reasonable temperature.

Would definatelty saty there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nodwell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $110 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing