We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Guest House
Ranked #11 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our third visit and sadly disappointing! The room we were allocated was freezing as the heater didn't work, the shower was almost impossible to use without balancing above the drain and tiny. We were given one cup of coffee which we had the night we arrived. I requested another two sachets in the morning but was told the dining hall is open and we are only given one in the room? I requested a hair dryer but also would have to go to reception to fetch it, in my pajamas perhaps or dressed after a shower with wet hair, in minus temperatures? We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    177
    131
    42
    41
See reviews for
105
92
135
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed over because of a day between our flights. It was really convenient and the staff were super helpful. We needed a baby bath for our 1 year old, and they unfortunately could only offer us a bowl, but it was all we needed for a night!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grace_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's clean, there's wifi, the shuttle bus was as promised and the breakfast was great compared to other budget airport hotels I've been to. You definitely get what you pay for, and I was not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and felt the guesthouse is quite OK.

On the plus side: the room was clean, beds OK, wifi worked well. Breakfast is nothing fancy but it has the basic things most people need. The shuttle from the airport was as promised.

Minus side: we were there in June, and the winter nights were COLD. The one heater in our room was barely enough, but thankfully we had 2 blankets for each of us. These rooms are really not made for the cold season. The heater did not warm the bathroom, which was almost freezing... Also, the "coffee" at breakfast was the thinnest coffee we have ever seen anywhere. It was just water, really, with a hint of coffee in it.
Nevertheless, Emerald is OK, and for the price it is a fair deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koiruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Being collected at OR Tambo and returned the next morning was wonderful. Reception friendly and efficient. The room and shower was sufficient but needs some TLC. Tiles missing on floor. Breakfast was excellent. Good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff were friendly and efficient. One duvet on the beds were far too little as the heater did not stay on for long. No hot water in the morning for a shower/shave before a long flight - disappointing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veonna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a really horrid place to stay at. It was winter and the room was freezing, the heater didn't work, and the blanket was so thin it may as well have been a sheet. When we went to the reception to ask for extra blankets, nobody was present for over an hour. Everything in the room was old & poorly maintained, and the breakfast was so basic for the price charged. I will never spend another night or cent on this place, and neither should you. Terrible service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Utihamaseelan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Property: Emerald Guest House
Address: 19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing