We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, bad diner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Guest House
Ranked #12 of 67 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms and beds in Emerald guest house were good. Everything was clean and the breakfast was nice. The swimming pool looked nice, but unfortunately I did not had time to have a swim.
Emerald guest house also offers diners at night and the menu seemed okay, but unfortunately the meals were very bad. It was not expensive, but the service was not good and the food did not taste very well. It took very long before we received our meals and the meat was very dry. I tasted like the meals were already prepared a long time ago and that they were heated in the microwave.

To conclude, I would recommend staying in this guest house if you just arrive or if you leave the next day, because the location is very near the airport and the guest house offers a pick up service from the airport or can bring you to the airport, which is a very nice service. I would not recommend staying there much longer, because there is a lot of noice from the airplanes.
I would definitly not recommend to have diner at this place, because the service is bad and the food did not taste good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 546 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed for a week 10 years ago and this trip , although shorter, allowed me to see how nice the renovations that were going on back then turned out. It is a lovely property and the staff was quite accommodating for transporting me to the shopping center during the hard rain . Clean rooms, great beds for a good night's sleep. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank walker2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I just needed a place near the airport to stay for the night - the Emerald Guest House was exactly that. Simple, efficient, neat and well organised. Had a nice breakfast and I was on my way.

I had a bit of a hard time finding the airport shuttle at first because the vehicle had no obvious markings. Adding a big "Emerald Guest House" logo on the side would help a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barnett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good guesthouse with excellent staff!
Nice garden and big pool. Rooms o.k with coffee/tea facilities.
Convenient is the pickupservice from the aitport.
Restaurant (food) can be improved. Breakfast is o.k.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EllaWHarderwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Friendly B&B. Good value for money. One down side, that goes with the up-side: close to the airport - means quite noisy. Excellent transfer to airport and back. Breakfast is included. Great swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Agnes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel surprised me, it was the cheapest available, clean, close to the airport, with free shuttle and free breakfast. It is great for one night or even more, since it has a pool and a relatively good outdoor area.

Room Tip: Provide the flight number so the shuttle driver can wait for you at the airport.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice place, superb food. The problem was with wifi in the room - it was not available in my room and couldn't check-in online for my plane the following day. Had problems to get help from the reception in the absence of phone line in the room. Shower was cold. Put phone extensions in the rooms and more TV channels for variety.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmlangiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Address: 19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: $34 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing