We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with Emerald Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Guest House
Ranked #11 of 66 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Happy with Emerald Guest House”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Emerald House, especially the peaceful garden atmosphere. Staff was friendly and helpful, and I enjoyed the added benefit of transport included to and from the airport. Great room service as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AbigailCrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    191
    148
    50
    47
See reviews for
118
102
153
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Close to the airport, free transport to the hotel ( and back to the airport), after announcing by email. Driver was waiting for me at arrival. Perfect for a short stay while waiting for the next plain...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A fantastic budget location with VERY friendly and helpful staff. I could not fault the team that looks after you on reception and housekeeping as they are great at what they do and nothing is too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The service including meals and transfers met my expectations, the rooms were tidy, the location ideal and safe. The staff were very helpful and were ready to do all the could to give the best advice about going around J'burg. The accommodation was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Emerald is a very guest friendly place. Since I flew in late at night and flew out in the morning, it was important for me to have reliable transfers to and from the airport. The Emerald provided that...and for free! The 2nd great thing is the fantastic breakfast they serve, also at no extra cost to the guest. The only low point of my stay was the 'cutting off' of electricity at night which I am not sure was due to a fault or if it's their routine. Nevertheless, I highly recommend the Emerald and will certainly stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Spiwe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Me being a hotelier especially specialising in guest relations, I was highly disappointed with Emerald Guest House. I made a booking just for the night since I failed to get a flight for my actual date, the place is very close to the airport and the rate is very very reasonable. I was disappointed before I even got to the guest house when i couldnt locate their shuttle at the airport so I called the reception and the person who I spoke to was very very rude telling me "I must only listen to him" and not speak or ask people at the airport because they dont work for them". Well I ignored that, eventually I found the bus and on check-in, as I stood in front of their desk, he kept himself busy with his head down and eventually asked for my name. I was given a room upstairs very far that their wifi does not even work there. The Television was not working at all when I checked in at 11h30. I informed them and someone came to sort of fix, but it wasnt working still. They informed me that the maintenence guys were busy with the channels and whatever but nothing tv was blank with only one channel SABC1 which was even very blury to watch. Seeing I didnt like my room when I asked for an upgrade at my own expense, this rude receptionist said I must book a new room altogether. For lunch, Never ever try it just order in. I went to reception at 1pm asking for lunch since it says in their information book that lunch is served at 1pm, the receptionist told me that I must come at 2 because they are busy with something else. At 1:45 He then told me to pay first for the lunch and it came 30minutes later. I asked if he knew whether there were services where could order in a pizza or something he said he doesnt know. Anyway NEVER EVER ORDER THEIR FOOD it was poorly done. I had to call mr delivery who then made the highlight of my stay by bringing mineral water and a complimentary newspaper. Tv never worked till 21h30 when the 2 helpful mainfenance guys said they will call the manager but nothing happened. Late shift receptionist was very good and helpfull. I will never cone back to this guest house where they dont care about their guests but only their money. THERE are a lot more guest houses closer to the airport with better facilities and treatment than this. I had a bad night stay at the Emerald. They need to think of training good guest services to some of their front of house people. Management needs to check nif all their guests are happ. Its very important.

Room Tip: Dont chose room upstairs, if you use your wifi frequently, choose rooms closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although the room was a little 'worn & tired' the bed was clean & comfortable with fresh towels & hot shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was good, setting us up nicely for our onward flight. Shuttle service excellent - someone waiting exactly as stated in our confirmation & only 5 minutes from airport. Great value for overnight stopover & would definitely use again. Very pleasant staff. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Property: Emerald Guest House
Address: 19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing