We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Moon Corporate House
Ranked #36 of 68 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed over on a Sunday evening only. The rooms are very neat and clean. I personally did not like the shower gel, as it is a sachet and hard to open when your hands are wet. My little fridge in the room was frozen up and I could not place any soft drinks or water in it as I could not get it open. But I went to family nearby and had dinner with them.

the next morning breakfast was just fine and well set out. But I did not had a full breakfast, as I had to leave at 06:30 am.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888firefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights at African Moon, in between trips. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast each morning was a wonderful buffet and the staff were especially friendly and helpful when it came to organising pickups, extra keys etc. Would recommend African Moon to anyone who needs to stay in accommodation that is not backpackers but not overly expensive digs. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherJess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Place is grate and my room was very clean and just needed to have WIFI accesibility on the premises. I would like to comment on ThE WAY THE driver tread me it was very professional of him. The amenities in the room was very nicely displaed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zandry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Zandry, it was lovely to have you with us last month. We have taken your opinion into consideration and now have free WI-FI hotspot throughout the premises. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked at the hotel hoping to get some sleep during a 9-hour layover in Johannesburg. I was promised that a driver would pick me up from the Airport. I waited and no one ever came. Despite this, they refused to give me a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Rockyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in the cheapest standard of room because a request to upgrade to executive was ignored. There was a good king size bed, the aircon/heater worked and the walls had been painted fairly recently. However, if you share this room (6) you cannot use the toilet privately. There was a safe but it was locked. There was a hairdryer but no adaptor to fit it in the power socket. There was one tea bag, a kettle and two mugs but no form of milk or Cremora. Light from the passage outside shone into the room through a skylight over the door so the room was never dark. The shower was one of the worst I have experienced with virtually no water pressure. I eventually took the rose off completely but then only had enough water to keep my upper torso warm while my dry legs got cold. A full breakfast was available but again a lack of detail for simple options like hot milk. Perhaps the more expensive rooms may be better but this was not the case for "thegloberover" who reviewed a luxury room recently.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citrusbugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for the review.Since then we have implemented an water pressure booster to upgrade the water pressure.The rooms do get checked by 3 different staff members to make sure the rooms are up to standard.The safes must be unlocked otherwise you can ask management to unlock the safe.The adapters are also at the office for safekeeping because we lose a lot of them.The light in the passage must be switched off at 11 at night when they close the main entrance.This specific room is a standard room for single persons or a couple and the open plan bathroom(wet room) is designed like that,staff are not allowed to split the room.Again sorry for the experience,we welcome you back for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was very happy with the location as it was out of the major traffic areas and far enough from the airport. Room was nice overall but need some work on the bathroom facilities. i.e poor pressure, shower heads not working properly. Delicious food :) Suggest that you have a list of taxi services on office door for people wanting to use it. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi Adri
Thank you for the nice review.We are currently attending to the water pressure in some rooms.I have also instructed management to have various taxi options available.Hope to see you again.

Regards
Stephan Malan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

African Moon is a nice place to stay. Large rooms, well decorated. Relaxed to sit at the pool after the day. Only disadvantages: my room was not clean and it was not easy to get in after arriving in the evening.



  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 119Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest , thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,386 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 26 in Kempton Park
607 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
4.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
5.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Moon Corporate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Moon Corporate House

Address: 63 Rietfontein Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: $46 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Moon Corporate House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Moon Corporate Business & Guest House Accommodation African Moon Corporate Guest House & Corporate Business Accommodation offers exceptional 4 Star accommodation only ten minutes drive from the OR Tambo International Airport and is situated within walking distance from shops, restaurants and other amenities.A luxurious corporate retreat with 24 spacious bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms all equipped with the latest communication and entertainment systems. Relax at the swimming pool have a sundowner at the bar or sit down and enjoy a scrumptious business meal with colleagues. We invite you to join us for great hospitality in a stylish and modern corporate business guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your African Moon Corporate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Moon Corporate House Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing