We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why look elsewhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kempton Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marben Manor Guest House
Ranked #8 of 68 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have stayed at Marben Manor many times and have been extremely well looked after with Yvonne Willem and Eban always going well out of their way to fulfiil all our requests to allow us to get what we have needed. The rooms are always exceptionally clean with everything availalble and have never missed anything. The food is just above all expectaions with my only concern being how much weight I put on due to not being able to control my temptaion to eat more. We will continue to use this place as our home away from home while in Africa

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Staff were super friendly & interested in us. I was leant a book and given a recipe. The rooms were excellent & super clean. The owners went the extra mile to cater to our needs. This place comes highly recommended by our family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Marben Manor, as a rest stop before and after visiting Kruger. We could not have gotten a better start to our vacation or a better rest between safaris. Willem, Yvonne and Eben could not have been more hospitable. Returning for our second stay felt like going home to family. The rooms were well stocked, clean and comfortable and the sprigs of lavender around our towels was a wonderful touch. Meals were served around the main dining room table allowing for pleasant, intimate and sometimes lively conversations with guests from around the globe. The food was local, plentiful and abundant-of course there was a little Jack Russell there to help you with whatever you couldn't finish :)

Room Tip: All rooms were located around the pool/garden with a small patio with bistro set for early morning c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggies7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner & i stayed at the guest house for two separate nights either side of our safari in the Kruger park. We were picked up from the airport and taken straight back to Marben Manor and from that moment we felt completely at home and as if we were staying with family!
The staff couldn't help us enough & went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

Both our breakfasts and evening meals were superb and made us feel completely at home.

We had a problem on the first day of our safari with the transport company that took us from the guesthouse to the point we met our guide, but Williem was a great help and was on the phone to them instantly.

The guesthouse is a five minute drive from the airport which was perfect for us as we were exhausted from traveling after arriving in Jo'Burg.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
Thanks again & sorry this is so late!!
James & Amanda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had just moved out of our house in South Africa and were ready to leave the country for several months. We arrived at Marben Manor pretty much worn out. The pleasant surroundings and the pleasant manner of the host and hostess contributed to a very pleasant and restful stay. The host couple knew it was our anniversary and had flowers and fruit waiting for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryNorberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our stay at Marben Manor was first class. Willem, the owner was a real gem, who looked after us so well and who went to great lengths to help us out. He's a super gentleman who goes beyond the normal duties of a host. Marben Manor is very clean, a good sized room, with a small fridge. It is situated very conveniently for the airport. It is also handy for Pretoria. I would definitely recommend this B & B to those who are looking for accommodation in a quiet location near the airport with the amazing personal touch of an owner who cares.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I arrived from my delayed international flight to find the friendly face of Willem waiting for me to transfer me to Marben Manor.
My room was clean and comfortable and the food and hospitality extremely enjoyable. I stayed two nights in total one before and one after my visit to the Kruger. Marben Manor was a safe haven to stay and very convenient for the airport.
I would most certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.8 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marben Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marben Manor Guest House

Address: 163 Bon Cretion Street | Pomona, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury accommodation in a rural setting offering free English breakfast. Away from the city noises, but conveniently close to Johannesburg Airport and all other major routes to Johannesburg, Pretoria and Mpumalanga. Home cooked dinners availabe upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing