We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kempton Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marben Manor Guest House
Ranked #8 of 66 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a wonderful guesthouse nearby the airport, and an excellent place to stay for anyone travelling on a tighter budget or not wanting to stay at the “higher-end” guesthouses. This is truly great value for the money, with the added bonus of free airport transfers. The grounds are large and well manicured, with a tennis court & swimming pool, and the hosts let us wander about on our own. It was a gated property and we felt very safe. I believe they have nine rooms, most of which are doubles.
While it does not have all the amenities of a 5-star rated accommodation – fancy soaps/lotions/shampoo/conditioner, thick mattresses & multiple pillows, fancy showers, under-floor heating, A/C – our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It doesn’t appear that they have a liquor license and beer/wine/soft drinks were not available to purchase. They do have a tea/coffee station and fridge in the room. All rooms have a non-smoking policy.
While not fancy, it fits into the “home-away-from-home” category, complete with pets. Perhaps as testament to the great deal this guesthouse offers, it appears that mid-level South African businessmen use the guesthouse regularly– during our stay we interacted with a number of locals.
If I had to find something to improve on, there would be two things: one was that the pillows were flat and not very supportive, and two, the water pressure in the shower would come & go if someone else was using water; but with some folding of the pillow and timing of the shower, these weren’t a problem.
The hosts were absolutely wonderful and helped us with any request we had. They truly bent over backwards to help us and make our stay more enjoyable – more so than any of the many guesthouse or B&B owners we’ve interacted with. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjabdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
20
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

One night stay between flights. It really couldn't have been better. Were picked up from the airport and taken back the next morning. Fantastic evening meal and breakfast the next morning. The hospitality of the owners is outstanding. The children loved playing with their dogs!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was a lovely overnight stay in Johannesburg. With alot of JetLag and only needing a place for the night, this was perfect. Met at the airport by the owner (and driven back in the morning).. his wife cooked a fabulous dinner and breakfast (dinner was only $7 AUD per person - breakfast included) . Group dining in the formal dining room was great to get to know other guests. The accomodation is above average and very comfortable. The grounds are secured and beautiful..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennThorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

When you have a major hiccup during your honeymoon(getting kicked off a flight due to lack of empty pages in your passport for visa stamps), it is great to have someone who you could call last minute, pick you up from the airport at 12am and accommodate you with their hospitality. Yvonne and Willem of the Marben Manor Guest House were a blessing when my wife and I needed housing for the night on January 11. Yes, the guest room was amazing, as was the breakfast, however, their hospitality is number 1 in my book and when I return to Johannesburg, I will be sure to stay with them again. Thank you so much Yvonne & Willem! - Gemma & Patrick

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebo1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Willem runs a fantastically clean, warm and hospitable guest house in the Jo'burg suburb of Kempton Park, right near the airport. Besides being a delightful and erudite conversationalist, Willem's hospitality makes you feel like you are staying in a private home (which, ultimately, this is) rather than a lodging business. After a whirlwind trip of five southern African countries, arriving at Marben Manor was just what the doctor ordered -- a clean, comfortable room; a home-cooked beef stew dinner; and stimulating, relaxing conversation over dinner with other farflung guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vulcantrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Marben Manor is just wonderful.
Yvonne picked us up from the airport (we had arrived on an earlier flight than planned but that was no problem to her).
The location is so convenient to the airport and the accommodation is just perfect - lovely rooms, gardens and the dining room is so beautiful.
Williem drove us to a nearby restaurant in the evening where we enjoyed a lovely meal and drove us home again.
The breakfast was first class.
Nothing is too much trouble for either Yvonne or Williem
They were able to give us advice on taking a tour of Johannesburg and Soweto and we booked that with Guardian Travel (whom Williem recommended) and we were not disappointed.
The only regret we had was we were only there for the one night.
If returning to Johannesburg we will certainly return to Marben Manor.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had not planned on staying at Marben Manor, but our travel agent mistakenly booked us into Africasky for only one night instead of two, and they were full. They graciously called Marben Manor which was nearby and they took us immediately. I loved it. The owners, Yvonne and Wllem, treated us like family. Since it was late and dark, they fed us a lovely dinner (totally unexpected) and sat and chatted with us during dinner and breakfast the next day. The house is very comfortable. They put us up in the wing of the house where they live, as opposed to the wing they added on for the B&B. The only drawback was the bathrooms were across the hall instead of in our rooms. (there were four of us) But they did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They have five friendly dogs, which we loved.

The house is convenient to the Johannesburg airport. What a lovely find!

  • Liked — The hosts welcomed us into their home and treated us like family.
  • Disliked — we were in their part of the house with the bathrooms across the hall.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,060 reviews
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
529 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marben Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marben Manor Guest House

Property: Marben Manor Guest House
Address: 163 Bon Cretion Street | Pomona, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury accommodation in a rural setting offering free English breakfast. Away from the city noises, but conveniently close to Johannesburg Airport and all other major routes to Johannesburg, Pretoria and Mpumalanga. Home cooked dinners availabe upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing