We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice guy running it, just a bit run-down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shoestrings Airport Lodge
Reviewed July 25, 2013

OK place located very close to OR Tambo airport. Clearly once a great backpackers but now feels tired and in need of refurbishment. The guy running it was nice and well informed and everything was spotlessly clean. The free breakfast was a bonus. Good place to stay if stopping over for the airport, so recommended for that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Shoestrings Airport Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rob was brilliant for information, help was always there if you needed it. Got stuck there an extra night and was no problem for them to let me stay. Breakfast is basic. But then the price is very low which includes pick up and drop off to the airport. He even took me shopping. He has a lovely family. Would recommend definitely for that stop off between flights and is a backpackers dream. So laid back. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was immediately impressed by the warm friendliness that the owner Rob possessed. It was like having an old friend welcome you into his home. The location, price, and quality/services provided are what made my transition into and from South Africa so comfortable. I was also provided with excellent local advice and information for tourism activities. The overall feeling of the lodge is that of a relaxed home, a place to feel like you are on a holiday and worry free. Hakuna matata!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our flight arrived well after midnight, but we were greeted by the extremely friendly owner, Rob, who took us to the hostel. The room was spacious and as it was very hot, Rob brought us a jug of ice water. For what we needed, a cheap but decent place to stay over night near the airport, this was perfect. It is also a Baz Bus stop.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stopped here on an overnight. Got into the airport super-late yet my very hospitable host Rob picked me up without qualms -for no extra charge. It was a short trip to the hostel. The room was lovely and clean and quiet. Breakfast of cereal, toast and coffee is incredibly included for the cost! The hostel has a really homely feel to it with rambling space and loads of communal rooms where you can socialise or equally escape the crowd. The owner went out of his way to ensure my stay was a good one – including giving me very helpful travel advice for the following day. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imaferrett04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here after getting into O R Tambo, was a great location for the airport and had a nice stay, the owner is friendly and you felt safe in the most dangerous city in the world!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

You can find Shoestring stay easy going and run in family atmosphere cause the owner runs the lodge in his house or I owuld say that rather live in lodge with his family.
Despite close to airport location area is so quiet and safe in comparison to Josburg city. Once talked to owner you may count on free airport pickups and local supermarket drop out.
You can use large enough kitchen. Flats of avarage standard, enough you can come with childern (few rooms with own bathrooms and WC). Wifi access.
After 18h of flight when come to Shoestring I felt like in oasis on concrete desert.
You can really have a rest there n your bypass.
During our: me and my wife 1 week stay in SA we make 3 stops at Shoestring. I didn't planned my trip but thanks to Rob advice and help we manage to see a lot of very interesting places in beauty SA, really worth to see, and also at backpacker's budget.
We owe to Rob so much and can only say to him: THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoestrings Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoestrings Airport Lodge

Address: Kempton Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: $30 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shoestrings Airport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoestrings Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing