We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful garden, Spacious Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safari Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, Spacious Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight layover in Johannesburg - our flight landed late in the evening and left first thing the next morning. We chose it because we wanted to stay at a place with a free shuttle from the airport, and Safari Club had been recommended to us.
Our room was enormous and comfortable. The grounds, pool and gardens were really lovely, but we didn’t really get to enjoy them during our short stay. I would recommend this place particularly for a longer layover, which would allow you to really take advantage of its attractive setting.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    71
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
82
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Safari Club both on our way to & from Kruger Park in March'13.It is very convenient when flying in or out of Johannesburg with the complimentary transfers. It is a private oasis in a semi industrial area with a nice friendly feel . Great if you are happy to stay in once there & enjoy the surroundings . We found the food to be good , our room spacious and looking out onto the expansive gardens, the honesty bar area & lounge very comfortable and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Not_So_Grey_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The bungalow rooms are great. Quite clean and very spacious! The staff is very accommodating! May not be overly friendly and willing to chat, but very helpful. There were a few that were extremely nice though. The bar is stocked with drinks and based on a honesty policy where you just mark off the things you take. That's always nice to see. The breakfast is quite good. Cute garden area as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

So relaxing - needed some time-out from my busy family and just needed to relax. Thank you for you friendliness Berlize, really felt like home. Will definately stay over here again !! (Love the gardens !!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I with our two small kiddies had to fly to JHB for a wedding. We stayed at the Safariclub Lodge. What a fantastic place!!

The rooms were unbelievably spacious and all four of us could fit into the room with so much extra space.

The staff where very welcoming, friendly and accommodating! Ant, the manager, is incredibly helpful and organised anything we required at the drop of a hat. Really excellent service.

There's a beautiful, tranquil outside area with plenty of trees, places to sit and relax, a sparkling pool and a great big lawn that was just perfect for the kiddies to happily run around in.

We had a good old South African braai on the first night and the food was just delicious!! Infact all the food was great!!

We'll definitely be using Safariclub again whenever we are in Jhb!

I would highly recommend Safariclub to anyone! Was such a fantastic stay!! Thanks so much to Ant and the team. We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMGJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Safariclub is nestled away from the busy buzz of Jhb. Once you enter the gates and view the beautifully landscaped gardens, it truly feels like a well manicured escape.

I was up on business and the very spacious rooms makes one feel comfortable with all the luxuries expected from a quality 4 star establishment. The 40inch screens in the room just prove bigger is better and safariclub delivers this each time.

Will see you guys soon. No more cluttered generic hotel rooms for me again.

Thanks Ant and the team at safariclub.

M Miller

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeseanrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are spacious, breakfast and dinner are tasty and delicious, staff is smiling and extremely helpful .... WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR (Y) we really loved our stay there ..they also arrange Kruger, Soweto, and Sun City

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarFakhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ikwekwezi Boutique Estate
Ikwekwezi Boutique Estate
#16 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.7 mi away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Club

Property: Safari Club
Address: 68 Pomona Rd | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 0056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Transfers to and from Johannesburg International Airport. Luxury Accommodation, 4 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Club Hotel Kempton Park
Safari Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing