We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere!!”

Casalinga Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #24 of 1,199 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you have whole Saturday afternoon to spend go to this restaurant. You can have 2 hours lunch. Food must be one of the best in Joburg. Kids can play with swing and other activities. I would go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    108
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, give it a try.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Italian restaurant is hidden in the countryside outside of busy Johannesburg. The restaurant is bigger than you initially observe, but the size does not make it unfriendly. The atmosfere is nice and service is good. I really enjoyed my Filetto al Funghi and the Tiramisu for desert was excellent too. I would never have found this place if it weren't be that I was invited. If you can, give it a try. I am sure you will like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Frambach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Good Cuisine”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

They served a variety of dishes and the service was good. We had a year end lunch which was enjoyed by all. They also sell some excellent chocolate products for the sweet tooth. I will definitely return to experience with my family and friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great country restuarant”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is always great and a must try in Johannesburg. It is not that far out of town but you get the feeling that you are out in the country. We have been there both as a couple and as a function and have never had a bad experiance. The food and service are both great. There is plenty of secure parking and on our last visit somebody even arrived by helicopter. This is a great venue to hold a function or party.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's well worth the drive”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Sunday, we should've been told that there is a set menu, it's quite pricey but still well worth it. I had the calamari to start, excellent and for main I had the salmon, it was magnificent! Nice little outside play area for the kids, lots of room to run wild while you enjoy your meal, will always be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casalinga Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Casalinga Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing