We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The art of fine dining”
Review of Vilamoura

Vilamoura
Ranked #564 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The art of fine dining”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I hold really good memories of Vilamoura in Cape Town, but never realised that there was one in Johannesburg till my last visit. After a tiring day I was really not in the mood to eat at a posh restaurant, but Vilamoura has the air of relaxed, understated elegance that immediately put me at ease. The rest of the evening just flew by with great conversation, excellent food, faultless service and superb wine.

Although the restaurant's specialty is seafood, the steaks are perhaps the best I have eaten anywhere! The menu is like a poetry book.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What's not to like. Fantastic menu which should cover even the most discerning palate. Huge plates but food is beautifully presented and oh so delectable. Service is outstanding, fabulous selection of good wine available. Highly recommended. Not cheap but well worth the price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy prawns”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For me Vilamoura is synonymous with Prawns. Most delectable. Quality of food and service standards commendable.

Helpful?
Thank RonelleJ1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is lacking”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The last time i had lunch at vilamoura was in late 90's. Top class " popular" restaurants were scarce in Joburg, infact, they were one of the first restaurants on took business clients to impress. The food was great but the atmosphere was electric. Had lunch there recently. We were one of two tables occupied in a very big restaurant. The decor is still top class, attached to a 5 star hotel, at the centre of Sandton it should be buzzing. The menue is extensive and immpressive with many seafood choices. And it was satisfactory.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, food and ambience”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Second time we eat there. The food has been great. The service extremely accommodating. Ambience very relaxed, comfortable, and classy at the same time. Great wine list too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rami h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vilamoura also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing