We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
98
95
27
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
95
27
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park station full size fridge inner city free shuttle service the central business district johannesburg cbd small kitchen apartments are spacious street noise excellent bathroom parking garage the penthouse close to the hotel double bed living area a small swimming pool enjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 240 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

A no frills, no fuss kind of place. Large, spacious rooms with comfortable linen. One drawback was the lack of two point plugs in the room. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was decent. Definitely a great option in inner city jhb.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017

Dear Laura C
Thank you for a perfect score and also taking the time to do a review on our hotel. Your comment with regards to the two point plugs are noted and we hope next time you in Johannesburg you will visit us again. Kind regards Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

We were met at the airport by the hotel driver ,Junior ,who was waiting with a sign with our name on as we came out from airside. As we arrived in the morning we had to wait a while for our room but were abe to sit on comfortable seats and use our computers. The room was big with a kitchenette, sitting area and bathroom with shower as well. Comfortable bed. Staff friendly. Junior drove us to a shopping centre in the afternoon and collected us later. He drove us to the railway station next morning and came into the station with our luggage. Food was fine - we had dinner and breakfast. Would use this hotel again. We did not walk out in the local area.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Dear SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
Thank you for your review and also taking the time to do so. I did share your message with Junior our driver and it is always good to hear this from our valued guests. We hope your next visit is just around the corner and we can't wait to welcome you back to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. Kind regards Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Location: 9/10
Ambience: 8/10
Service: 8/10

We arrived to this hotel without expecting much, to be honest, and we were really surprised.

Upon arrival reception team were smiling and lovely, they explained how everything works in the hotel and introduced us to "Job" who was going to be our sort of bodyguard (!?) during our stay, who was going to escort us if we needed or wanted to go walking any place nearby, or he would drive us anywhere up to 5 milles without any extra charge.

Our room was massive, with a balcony, big bath, and even a small kitchen. Really comfortable, however, there were a lot of pigeons in said balcony. They were very noisy kept the balcony very dirty.

The hotel has a gym (which we never used) and a small swimming pool, that was always in the shadow (and we didn't use it either).

Both breakfast and dinner is served in their restaurant The Marshall. For breakfast, continental selection is quite limited, but if you have full breakfast inclusive it become a great deal. For dinner, their menu is small but with enough options. For both services we were missing cutlery on the table, but staff members were attentive and polite.

Check The Vault, a sort of basement bar which was literally a vault when the hotel use to be a bank.

Our only regret is not staying here longer. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jo'burg.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ViajandoConChongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

Dear Viajando
Thank you for your review and kind words. We really glad that you had such an awesome time staying with us and I hope next time you in Johannesburg you will stay with us again. I will make sure that you comments with regards to the restaurant does reach the restaurant manager. Kind regards Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

I wanted to stay downtown rather than a suburb to get a better sense of the city. We had a very comfortable, safe stay here. Having been to Mapungubwe I understood and enjoyed the theme which added an extra layer to the lodgings. We had a huge apartment with everything we needed. The staff was so friendly especially Amanda. Everything was handled quickly and easily. The breakfast was great and unique. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere that is easy to arrange. I usually just ubered back never paying more than 25 r for an Uber as the hotel is centrally located. The parking was secure and convenient although we only drove one day, to Soweto and the Apartheid museum, otherwise it seemed inconvenient to drive to city sites with the shuttle and Uber so easy. We were definitely discouraged from walking about in this area though. The onsite restaurant is modern and very good so no need to stress going out at night. The fitness room even had barbells which is a big plus for me. Good wifi I was even able to have good enough and consistent internet for a 2 hour conference call in the middle of the night South African time.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Dear Meandros
Thank you for giving us a perfect score and also for taking time to do this review. It is really good to hear that you understand the theme behind our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future. The way you describe your experience is priceless. Kind regards Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

I arrived one evening with a medium sized piece of luggage.
- The doorman didn't offer to help me carry it up the stairs to the reception desk.
- I then checked in and was asked how I'd be paying for my room - my room had been booked online by a colleague. I said by credit card, and then confirmed the amount. The amount I was about to be charged was more than on my booking confirmation where my colleague had managed to find a special dinner, bed and breakfast deal, and the amount I was now being told was more than that for just bed & breakfast. I told them that the amount I was quoted is what I would pay, and they should sort themselves out.
I then went up to my room which turned out to be a "studio" with a kitchenette.
- there was no desk (considering this hotel is in the city, I would think that most guests are business travelers.)
- there were no spare plugpoints to charge my laptop
- the room lighting was very poor so not only was it difficult to find a place to work, it was also difficult to see my papers
- I like coffee and only drink decaf at night or I can't sleep, there were no decaf sachets or pods in the room so I phoned to request some from room service, they don't keep decaf sachets or pods so they could only offer me a cup of Bootlegger coffee which they then wanted to charge me for
- there were no glasses in the bathroom so I needed to take a glass from the kitchen with me
- there were no tissues in the room so I had to use the spare toilet roll from the bathroom to blow my nose
- the wifi was not great - this could be related to where my room was - but I don't know for sure
I went to work the next morning and came back to the hotel that evening to find out that the keycard I had been given (I was also only given ONE keycard) didn't work so I had to go back to reception to get it fixed (this happened every day that I was there) which was a real inconvenience as I came home late each evening carrying a backpack and had to go downstairs again each time to sort out my keycard.
This was definitely not my favourite Faircity hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juuuuudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Dear Juuuudy
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with regards to your stay. I really do apologise for your bad experience and that isn't the level of service we deliver. All your concerns will be taken up with my Head of Departments to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you how we do deliver on our slogan "Service by Design" and I'm looking forward to welcome you back to Faircity Mapungubwe
Kind regards Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews