We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try. One of the best business hotels in SA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must try. One of the best business hotels in SA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Refreshing to see how well an old office bulding in downtown Joburg was converted into this stunning business hotel with a subtle undelying theme. I felt safe and comfortable with being in town. My, has it changed down there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Dear JordanCapeTown

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience during your time at the hotel.

When you visit us again please inquire from our Faircity Friend to book you a lovely table in our trendy restaurant TWIST. Twist offers a wide selection of wines and other soothing beverages, not even to mention our special food menu with some mouth watering selections as well.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
45
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have been to the hotel twice; and received bad service on both occasions. The first time to the restaurant Twist, and the second time off late I slept over. The room and the hotel is nicely decorated and neat, but the service was below 4-star standards. There was little to no room service offerings- we requested wine to our room at night, breakfast and towels the next morning; of which none could be supplied to us. I found the staff, particulary the restaurant manager, dismissive of clients requests and not accomodating. I will not be going back there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Dear MonicaJHB

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

We would like to thank you for the review and feedback.

We would like to inform you that the past year Faircity went through a complete new face lift together with a brand new focus, Service By Design! We strive to deliver to each guest visiting our property service through excellence and a remarkable stay during their time with us.

We will be delighted to have you visit the hotel again and to improve on the experience you gained during your time with us in the past.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our group of friends decided that we do not do enough touristy things in our own city. So off we went on a Sunday morning to visit the Top of Africa. This is the 50th floor of the Carlton Centre in down town Joburg which is still the highest building in Africa after all these years. The view was amazing and we took great photos.
We decided to keep to the inner-city theme and then went to the Mapungubwe Hotel's restaurant for breakfast in Newtown. It is called Twist. The hotel is situated close to the Market Theatre, Museum Africa, SAB brewery museum and the Newtown cultural district with gallerys and several restaurants.
The hotel foyer is elegantly African. The decor is an interesting fusion between rich graphic print fabrics and more African elements like cow hides on the floor and ostrich feather floor lamps. The dining area feels spacious and airy with the high ceilings and white table linen. The hot buffet was very tasty. Particularly loved the addition of spicy chicken livers to give it a more African feel.
The staff was amazing. I have seldom encountered more well-trained and friendly waiters. We had to draw cash and was promptly offered a security guard to escort us to the nearest ATM.
Although we did not stay over at this hotel, judging by our dining experience it can only be great!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Dear Johanet

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your kind review and feedback.

We will be delighted if you and your friends come and visit us again. We have a stylish, modern and fashionable venue down stairs named, The Vault. You can enjoy a selection of soothing beverages together with catching up on the new hip and trendy must do's in the BIG city.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

I really loved this hotel, since I was working nearby at a major bank. I could easily walk, this part of the CBD is particularly safe. At night there is not a lot of action, but it was easy to get a shuttle to Rosebank or Killarney.

The rooms are comfortable, the staff (with a few exceptions, friendly).

A number of good restaurants for lunch and dinner in the vicinity.

  • Liked — The beautifully restored building, proximity to offices
  • Disliked — A bit quiet at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joesomeboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Dear Joesomeboey

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your kind review!

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay in our hotel during your visit to Johannesburg. We strive to exceed each and every perception of guests when they visit Mapungubwe Hotel.

When you visit us again, spoil yourself with some delicious cocktails or a refreshing beer down stairs in our very unique, stylish lounge, called The Vault.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#26 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#21 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#43 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Property: Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.Twist at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing