We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel has large spacious studio apartment style rooms that include a kitchenette. The hotel is located in a key business area and safe for the single woman traveler. However , it is far from the shopping district and stepping out in the evening is absolutely avoidable.The hotel has free internet but no wifi in the rooms only a lan wire so if you have a mobile device you just have internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shriyanka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Shriyanka,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in the Heat of the CBD, close to all the new and exciting developments and attractions that the inner Johannesburg has to offer.

Thank you for your sincere remark as security is of utmost importance to us here at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

My team and I strive to offer the best possible service and quality our guests deserve.

In the near future you will be able to enjoy wifi and new linen in all guest bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
45
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in Mapungubwe for 2 'stopover'-nights. We aprreciated the spacious rooms and their facilities, the friendly staff and fine restaurant. It's also a very good location to explore Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martens I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Martens I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is a rare find to locate a hotel as splendid as this one. First of all, it is extremely stylish and well designed. The rooms are chic and spacious. The whole hotel is shines with cleanliness and the staff exemplify quality service. The buffet breakfast is a very high end with a great selection of hot and cold food. I would totally recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone looking for a first class experience for a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms look over an interior courtyard and pool. Security is present in all areas of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Lyle_WA,
Thank you once again for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms as well as our great food. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Yours in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there for three weeks (without the weekend).
It a nice hotel w/ very large rooms. Nice personal with good service. They are always willing to help you. The gym was ok. If you have to work in the neighborhood, this is a good choise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are probably much more quite, however the view will be limited. Hotel taxi servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Good afternoon Kees, V,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. You are right in that the inward facing rooms are quieter. We also offer patio units, security conscious rooms (CCTV in the hallways) and one bed execs should you require more space for a longer stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great weekend exploring Johannesburg with Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartmens as our base camp! I will definitely recommend Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments hotel to anybody who is looking for stylish place to stay in Johannesburg CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Good morning Mr Burger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. I will convey your positive comments to our team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed her for 1 night in May after a 4 week road trip through South Africa, Namibia and Botswana. The rooms are fantastic and you get a very good service. The rooms are spacious and real apartments, even as you stay in the hotel.

Shuttle service is great for travel around JHB.

The complimentary breakfast is also good. Although specifically for SA, not Europeans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Good afternoon Ewald,

It was great to have met you during your stay in Johannesburg. Glad we could have made you stay enjoyable. Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokopane, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for business travellers who has to do business in the CBD of Johannesburg, e.g the mining Head Offices. The hotel rooms are large with a "lounge" area, small kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The linen is clean. The restaurant serves excellent meals and the staff is freindly and helpful. During the day security guards are stationed on the corners of the street making it safe in the immediate surroudings. Even though there are no supermarket there is a small Woolworths food close by for those who would want to prepapre there own food and there is also a free shuttle service available from the hotel to one or two selected malls in the suburbs. By staying at this hotel which enable you to walk to the businesses close by, beat being stuck in the traffic at peak hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amclean2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Alicestine,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the quality of your stay. Our main focus is on the businesses in JoBurg City Centre, although we get a fair number of tourists that visits the city's attractions.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#22 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#28 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#15 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#36 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Property: Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.Twist at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing