We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value for $$” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for $$”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large with separate bedroom. The linen are clean with good housekeeping service. The kitchen is modern but it there is no supermarket around. However free shuttle services within the CBD is awailable. The staff is friendly and helpfull.
The restaurant offer buffet most of the time at reasonable price.
The swimming pool is located in between the building square and hardly has any sun there. Not in great use but will be OK during hot days

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Good morning Mig26,

Thank you for providing us feedback on your experience. It will be great to welcome you back in the near future.

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
51
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms were nice. There was a separate bedroom and bathroom, then a living room kitchen area. It was comfortable. The included breakfast was very good and included a cook who would make you eggs or an omelet to order as well as a variety of hot and cold options. The front desk staff could use some work. Some were very friendly and tried to be helpful but mostly they just stood in a group behind the desk and chatted amongst themselves and ignored us. The area was ok to walk during the day but I don't think I would venture out at night, and everything is closed on the weekend so there's nothing to do close. There is a shuttle but don't count on it. When we tried to book it from the airport we were told it was to busy. When we called to get picked up at the Museum of Africa it took an hour and a half, then when we took the shuttle to the gautrain and arranged a pickup at 4pm they forgot about it and never wrote it down. We had to call them twice to get picked up. The shuttle was very undependable and that brought it way down in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkjl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear mkjl2001,

Thank you for your response. The comments are valid and we will need to work on the transport to be more reliable. This is a fairly new addition to Mapungubwe as we reliased our guests need easy to access mobility. The Johannesburg city centre offers great options which I want our guest to explore !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel was beautiful, well appointed, with spacious, well designed rooms\ apartments. Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. Meals were great. Altogether a pleasant experience. The room I occupied had a pleasant kitchen , seating , lounging , tv watching area, an excellent bathroom with shower and bath. The whole apartment was beautifully designed, spacious, and a real haven

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniedewetart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Danie,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with the management team.

Regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night, what a pleasant surprise in downtown Johannesburg! The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. I was impressed to see that the hotel was full even over a weekend! The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant Twist was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Good morning Debbie,

Thank you for your posting. We are always glad when guest communicate their good experiences with us. I will forward your comments to the team !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A group of us decided to make an overnight visit to Fairdity Mapungubwe and to visit the Masters Art Exhibition at the Standard Bank Theatre.
The rooms are spacious, luxurious and very well designed; both in terms of comfort as well as aesthetically.
The meals were great! We booked the Round Room as a private dining area and ordered off the a la carte menu.
However, what made the visit exceptional was the staff. As a team they are confident, naturally guest oriented and genuinely helpful.
All of us in the group could not stop talking about how relaxed they made us feel and how they were able to both anticipate our needs and then respond so well.
Definitely a great recommendation!

Room Tip: Corner rooms and court yard facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JolanteHesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Me Hesse,

I am glad that your visit to the Johannesburg inner city worked out and that Faircity Mapungubwe could play it's role to ensure you have a successful weekend.

I will send your comments on to the staff and management. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was very impressed with the size of the room. Very spacious, open and clean. The hotel in general is very clean and neat, making my stay more pleasant. The service we received at the hotel and restaurant was exceptional. We have not experienced such service in a long while, while traveling. Location of the hotel was a bit scary but the staff made me safe at all times. I will definitely recommend the hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Good morning Nikkie8,

Thank you for your comments. It is always great to hear we have exceeded a guest's expectations. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of CBD spacious rooms and me as I diabetic can use kitchen to cook my own food. The complimentary shuttle to my office was a bonus and the gentle who helped me with my bags was wonderful. I will definately be coming back

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsametse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello tsametse,

Thank you for your comments. I will pass it on the our team. The complimentry shuttle is one of the ways we try and make it easier for our guests to get around in the city centre. Please make use of it to go to the Gautrain station next time when you visit us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#21 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#26 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Property: Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.Twist at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing