We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Greek Food in a fresh and embracing environment!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Restaurant Cresta

Plaka Restaurant Cresta
Ranked #16 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food in a fresh and embracing environment!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Awesome Decor, followed by GREAT service and FOOD.... The authenticity is really felt even as a Greek, I rate the great tastes and menu all incumbent with an awesome ambience...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

They are a rip off and bad service. Do not ever go there. Management want your money but not service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
303 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fine mediterenean cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am realy impressed by the fine quality of food served here and as it has been a long time since i have been here for dinner i had the pleasure to notice the all the food served here has kept its high standard. Plaka is supposed to be a greek restaurant but you will find many different plates of food here that are specialitys from many different countrys around the mediterenean sea and middle east. We enjoyed the beetroot salad hummus falafel and haloumi cheese , followed by grilled fish wih rice and vegys all made to perfection . Plaka in cresta is not a posh restaurant but a nicely designed restaurant serving you very good fresh food for a very afodable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been going here for a few years and have always had good food and service. We normally choose a selection of small meze dishes and dips which allows you to try a variety of dishes. On our last visit (2 weeks ago) we had the fish & chips, the portion was large and the fish was grilled as opposed to deep fried which made a nice change.
The serving staff are well trained and always do a good job and management is always visible

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had the great joy of spending new yrs eve at Plaka.
I booked with trepidation since I have only eaten at the Plaka on one previous occasion. Here are some thoughts of the evening....
1. The restaurant was full, but NOT packed in like sardines which can so often be the case on new yrs eve. We had a lovely roomy table for my party.
2. A 10 course menu had great variety !
3. Food quality was excellent ...very generous portions too!
4. We were presented with a glass of bubbly on arrival by a waitress named Gracious......and gracious she was indeed ! Cheerful , fast & efficient service the entire night.
5. Pleasant entertainment....fun belly dancers soon got the dance floor filled.
All in all a superb evening....fabulous food (got to go back for those king prawns, lamb kleftico....and not to mention a tiramisu & baklava to die for) fantastic service....pleasant ambience....WE WILL BE BACK...as will our guests!
Thank you Plaka for a lovely evening...and special thanks to Gracious our waitress.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Restaurant Cresta also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Plaka Restaurant Cresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing