We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“old fashioned greek food on modern setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Restaurant Cresta

Plaka Restaurant Cresta
Ranked #10 of 1,125 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“old fashioned greek food on modern setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

the food quality is excellent and without the standard Greek decor makes it a refreshing place for a good meal

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank michele e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    55
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Always great Food, excellent service and terrific vibe. Great for special occasions

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Food was great and the service was outstanding. I have been to Plaka on a few occasions and I have yet to be disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank doppierunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Plaka - Eastgate roof top - True Greek taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We ended up on the roof of Eastgate and decided to go for Greek food for lunch. The place was pretty full and we ended up inside. We ordered a slelection of dips, sardines, baby calamari, oysters, greek salad, Kilping fish and a few more. The food was excellent and teh service from our waitress - eventhough teh restaurant was busy, was attentive and friendly.
To finish we had to try the baklava with a typical greek coffee. The baklava were remarkable and one coudl feel that honey rather than syrup of sugar was used.
Along with teh music played on the square, this was a memorable lunch in Joburg!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WWWShopandBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
299 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best mediterenean food in jozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Eberything in this restaurant just reminds me of my home country ( israel ). First courses are light and very well prepared main courses fish or meat always very well made and very tasty . Coffe ( greek/ turkish ) however you want to call it with on the house baklava is the best way to finish your dinner here. Owners are very friendly and if they have time will always come to your table and see to it that everything is ok. I will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Restaurant Cresta also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Plaka Restaurant Cresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing