We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mag-nifi-cent Peri Peri Chicken”

BBQ Workshop Rivonia
Ranked #121 of 1,699 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The chicken was cooked fantastically on the BBQ (obviously it’s cooked over charcoal,not gas, that smell alone is hunger inducing). Tender, delicious filling and parted out. The sauce was divine, the service excellent and I had a large amount to take away, all for R89. Delicious. The Greek owners were there too, proving its authenticity, who were also very engaging and charming. VFM 10/10, Service 10/10, Flavour, just off the scale

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 833desc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

Plenty of heating on Friday winters evening so staff very friendly and helpful So so far so very good
Will report later on food Etc Etc
No yellow corn bread replaced by a pita bread
Food tastes Gr8
But Chicken portion was small @ the price Ordered extra portion as I was a little hungry
An attentive Manager queried how food was and I advised
He listened as chicken portion is very honestly ...small
He brought me a delicious Greek desert on the house
Overall good Gr8 and service was and I guess we have to pay for the gas someday someday someway

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank AidanB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

I had chicken in a Pita and it was very good. Then waffles and ice cream for dessert that was divine. It was unfortunate that the service was very poor, despite the restaurant being quiet.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank CatrionaE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Beef and lamb gyro great
Crispy calamari!
Chicken wings!
Great grills on real coals- brilliant concept
And the vaflaki (waffles) - best waffle in town

Our favourite spot in Johannesburg!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank craigws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Came here for my birthday dinner, service was friendly,they offer delicious milkshakes,gelato and of course the food the yiro.Their waffle style vaflaki is yummy .Enjoyed our meal here

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ Workshop Rivonia also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to BBQ Workshop Rivonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing