We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience ”
Review of The Red Chamber

The Red Chamber
Ranked #85 of 1,700 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always a great experience. We have been to The Red Chamber a number of times and have never been disappointed. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 359marthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Group of 8, ordered tons of food. Steamed fish over cooked and tough. Forgot to bring some dishes kept having to ask for service. Didn’t refresh water. Food greasy and asked for minimum heat veggies. They were ridiculously hot and inedible. Had we not been with a crowd I’d have complained. Don’t go.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank adventuressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

Just took a client here from Singapore.

Great food and great service. Was served by a really nice lady originally from Shanghai - such wonderful service and great recommendations in terms of food. My client felt instantly at home.

Had two sizzling kinglip dishes with egg fried rice and stirfry vegetables.

Food came quickly and was a decent size portion.

Will be back !

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank NATO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

I am trying to persuade my partner to NOT always order the same dish but he cant resist it... Every meal I have had at The Red Chamber has been excellent. Wonderful service even when full to the brim. We go at least twice a month.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

We have been to The Red Chamber several times and it has remained constant over time. The service is friendly and relaxed although not ultimately speedy. The food is always tasty but they will not win a prize for presentation. Nevertheless, the menu is more than adequate with some favourites remaining over the years. Sizzling hake with a fruity sauce is one of those and can gladly be recommended. Otherwise there are ample options to choose from. Wine can be ordered by carafe which is a good addition to the wine list. If you are in the area then have kunch or dinner here. The food is always tasty.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank WynaPret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Chamber also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Red Chamber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing