We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Themed Evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Chamber

The Red Chamber
Ranked #144 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Themed Evenings”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Emma and the Red Chamber team do themed evenings once every couple of months which are such a treat. There are the crab evenings, duck evenings and prawn evenings that are most frequent and are absolutely decadent and delicious! Ask to be put on her mailing list and respond quickly before it gets booked up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HedyGorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    69
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good! Been several times.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The best and healthiest (no MSG) Chinese restaurant. Comfortable seating and good service. Delicious food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Jozi”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I couldn't believe I'd been living in Joburg for two years before I discovered the Red Chamber. Atmosphere is good, food is outstanding -- tasty, not oily, quality ingredients. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had read so much about this famous resaurant & decided to go there for a special occassion. Sadly, we were very disappointed. We love dim sum & with all the rave reviews, we clearly ordered it. It's probably some of the worst dim sum we've had. In fairness, we travel to the East often so perhaps our expectations were set very high. The service wasn't great either. The tale we sat at had a straw like partitioning between us and the next table which was very flimsy and kept on being knocked between the next table & us which was annoying (for the other table too, I'm sure). I don't think we'll go back & we won't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good quality ingredients.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The food here is very fresh, and the menu is varied. The place has a good buzz about it and the service was efficient.

The only thing I couldn't get my head around was going out for dinner in a shopping mall - not for me!

If you are looking for a good quality Chninese than give it a go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Chamber also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Red Chamber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing