We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super surprise”
Review of Walnut Grove

Walnut Grove
Ranked #31 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine under the shade of our family tree and one of Africa's largest chandeliers.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super surprise”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a lovely surprise to find this restaurant in the middle of a mall. A nice contemporary setting. More than sufficient menu and great people watching. Being on my own was not a problem to find a little nook to sit back and enjoy my lunch. The baked goods looked fabulous. Felt like the staff hustled you in but then were slow to serve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalnutGroveSA, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our establishment. We love to be considered a 'surprise' and we hope to keep surprising our patrons. We hope to be able to impress you again soon and hopefully this time the service with be swifter.

Kind Regards
Team Walnut Grove
(Elle, Fotis & Alessandra)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    125
    28
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic and stylish experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Walnut Grove is a special gem in the midst of Sandton City. It is a stylish and beautiful restaurant with food and service to match. Nothing is too much trouble for the well trained staff, Food is delicious and portions are generous. The menu is quite extensive so there is something for every one to eat, the highlight of the place is their amazing dessert bar - I would recommend the bar one cheesecake - amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalnutGroveSA, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our establishment. It means a great deal to us when customers leave with such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon over a slice of Bar-One Cheesecake.

Kind Regards
Team Walnut Grove
(Elle, Fotis & Alessandra)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South African
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Sandton City”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For many years, Sandton City had a reputation of not having any worthwhile restaurants. The new Walnut Grove solved this problem by finally providING the perfect restaurant/coffee shop in the middle of Sandton. The Decor is fantastic, the service is excellent and most importantly the food delivers on every level. Owner managed means attention to detail and importantly that the food is consistently good. Would recommend without hesitation - simply no competition in the mall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalnutGroveSA, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing such positive words about our restaurant and your experience with us. It means a great deal to us when people notice that we are still a family run restaurant in the heart of Sandton City. We hope to see you again soon and to continue offering the level of service you have come to expect from us.


Kind Regards
Team Walnut Grove
(Elle, Fotis & Alessandra)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I visited Walnut Grove yesterday and was pleasantly surprised with the beautiful decor. Sevice was good. I had a Cuppacino, mozzerella pannini and small redvelvet cupcake. Was really good. I like it because you are able to find a quiet place in the corner and like I said, the decor is beautiful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalnutGroveSA, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would love to thank you for writing such a lovely review about the decór and food at Walnut Grove. We particularly liked the fact that you mentioned that you could find a quiet space to enjoy the above. It means a great deal to us that our customers feel relaxed and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Walnut Grove
(Elle, Fotis & Alessandra)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise in a shopping mall”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised to find such a lovely restaurant in a shopping mall!
My husband, daughter and I had lunch there.
Surroundings lovely, staff very friendly, food and service great and to top it all you get a voucher which gives you free parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalnutGroveSA, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send your wonderful review and photo of our salad. It is reviews like this that propel us forward in both service and quality. We hope to see you again soon and offer you an equally positive experience.

Kind Regards
Team Walnut Grove
(Elle, Fotis & Alessandra)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Grove also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Walnut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing