We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly awesome experience”
Review of moyo Zoo Lake

moyo Zoo Lake
Ranked #11 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: moyo Zoo Lake is a tranquil retreat from the urban hustle and bustle of Joburg. By day moyo offers a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere; as the African sun sets, cocktails on the deck and fabulous live music set the tone for an extraordinary evening of fine-dining and soulful vibes. moyo Magic gives new meaning to birthday parties and workshops.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A truly awesome experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went as a large group and Moyo did not disappoint! From a traditional hand washing ceremony, to delicious food, to ice cold drinks we all loved every minute of it. The highlight of the evening was the live music - a gentleman singing with his guitar. He was brilliant and everyone at the restaurant thoroughly enjoyed his performance... some even got up and danced!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are now fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    222
    106
    53
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Afrika's royal treatment”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are looking for good Afrikan cuisine, great service, soothing music and ambiance then Moyo is your ideal restaurant. The menu will take your taste buds on a journey from Zimbabwe, Tanzania through to Senegal. I also love Moyo's signature personal touch - the Afrikan inspired face art.

This was our restaurant of choice to celebrate my cousin's graduation. It was befitting for a princess...

I enjoy the beautiful Afrikan idioms boasted proudly on the menu. Wisdom and wealth of Afrika.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nombie - Travel Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are now fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great African experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A must visit for foreigners for the modern yet authentic african cuisine. All the food is delicious and enjoyed by all. Best time to visit is during the day as the scenery is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The2Thompsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are now fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great ambience, food and service.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visited this restaurant as part of short stay in Johannesburg with family. Sunday lunch was great. Tasty food for all four in our party. Service was very professional and live music added to Atmosphere. Will visit other restaurant locations on SA holiday, to try more of the house specialties.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinso51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are now fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Joburg”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a very unusual and amazing restaurant in the heart of Johannesburg. I loved the gardens, the face painting, the food and the live music - a Fabulous find that I can't wait to visit again !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this review, March 18, 2017
Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are now fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed moyo Zoo Lake also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to moyo Zoo Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing