We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Goosen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega

Bottega
Ranked #199 of 1,075 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Goosen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really love the bakery, the service is great and the avo rock is divine. the venue is not fantastically aesthetic but well positioned. the upolstery could be redone is it a little old!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TintswaloLodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent selection of food and wines and great service, up market and great for special occasions or any occasion really! Book in advance

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food in the heart of parkhurst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its so small you may just miss it, but the italian food here is something not to miss. Its authentic( so much so that the owner speaks to you in italian if you want), and the food is great. My mother in law( a true italian) even thought the food was great.

The small setting makes it cosy, and the day we went it was raining which made the air cool, and ever so much more enjoyable. Have any of the pastas, they are fresh and change on a weekly basis. Not cheap, but well worth good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great first-date restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband took me here on our first date and within six months, we were engaged. Now, I'm not saying that this restaurant was directly responsible for my marriage, but it is a great place for a first date. Lovely, romantic atmosphere and great service. The food is superb, as is the wine, albeit a tad pricey.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bottega - a sure thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Food is always good and prices are reasonable. Staff friendly and efficient. One of our favourite places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing