We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best ribs in Jozi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bottega

Bottega
Ranked #142 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the best ribs in Jozi”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Despite been known as a sandwich and pasta place... Savi (the owner) makes the most lip-smacking-plum-sauce-coated-sticky spare ribs. Drive across town for these. Hell ...leave your wife

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal and nice drinks”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really well put together menu, with enough variation in offerings, to satisfy a number of people. The food is exceptionally tasty, portion sizes are not overly generous [which I prefer], and really well-prepared.

A very nice range of cocktails and wines make for the option of truly tailoring your drinks with your food.

Staff are very friendly.

I found the food to be very fairly priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Whiskey connoisseurs and italian cuisine unite!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you like your Whiskey and are a bit of a connoisseur, you will be in very good company at Bottega in Parkhurst. They have a whiskey/whisky menu that is a book of the whos who of whiskey. The owner is very knowledgable about whiskey and has special whiskey tastings every so often. We have been to 3 of these tastings so far, and it keeps getting better and better. Get yourself on the list as it's by invitation only!
Now you have to have an accompaniment to a great whiskey, and their food is exceptional. From the rissoto balls starter (or the divine melanzane di parmigiano), to the salmon pasta main to the decadent desserts, you will never go hungry. Their menu changes all the time, and the chef is so creative and talented, I have never been dissappointed (and I consider myself a bit of a foodie and a whisky connoisseur of note). I enjoy Bottega everytime we go, and we have been many, many, many times! :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Burger quest 1”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Okay, awesome cosy little cafe on 4th avenue, late afternoon the sun shines on the tables outside. We got there quite late on a Sunday, just in time to order, a bottle of champagne(MCC) and a cheese and bacon burger! If this was how my quest began, it was going to be a delicious journey, this burger was cooked to perfection, tender and tasty, almost too big to fit in my mouth but I made it happen, I refused to eat this beauty with a knife and fork!! So far, this has been my best burger ever!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great Vibe nice people and good food, cant go wrong giving Bottega a visit, Just the PARKING !!! everybody is going crazy about the costs, but the owners are rallying together to try and sort this out Good Luck

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pietuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing