We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated African food”
Review of moyo Melrose Arch

moyo Melrose Arch
Ranked #9 of 1,289 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian, Moroccan, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Johannesburg, the 350-seater, multi-level modern restaurant - clad in copper with pressed pebble walls - embodies Africa's finest music and urban cuisine offerings.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Situated in the vibrant and energetic surroundings of Melrose Arch is already such a bonus. Staff are all dressed in traditional clothes and extremely friendly which is so true to their nature. Service was excellent, traditional rituals of hand washing with rosé water, face painting - at your choice, this is all done while waiting for your food. Excellent wine menu, we managed to pick up a bottle from Heskell vineyards, which I have never seen before in any restaurant. As the food is typically African and therefore a lot of spices are used, they offer you a little tasting bowl, before you confirm your order. I tried the Cig Cig Wat, braised beef heavenly spiced with fenugreek, all spice and cloves and served in a flat bread wrap with avocado and the ever cooling option of yoghurt. Truly delightful. The menu is very extensive but the waiters are there to explain and recommend. For oversees visitors this is a "bucket list" experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 746 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Moyo was better than ever on this trip. In addition to the interesting and delicious food, are all the other attractions of the restaurant. Staff are attentive and helpful. We had a lovely experience of handwashing with scented rosewater and the really cool face painting. There were two people singing and playing the finger harps. The restaurant is captivating and the gift shop has unusual items for sale.

1  Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I think things started off badly as I did an online booking and when we arrived they did not have our details. The service started off badly until we had a chat to the Manager. After this things improved and we had a reasonably good evening. There are some unusual things on the menu and this is what I enjoy but this did not really measure up to expectations. The food was somewhat tasty but all the dishes where cold. Based on this experience I will not be returning as there are many resturants in the area that serve quality food and have great service. Its not that it was terrible butfor the prices charged, you would expect alot more. This review is specif to the Melrose Arch Moyo's as I have had great experiences at both Moyo's Stellenbosh (Spier) and Durban Ushaka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went for diner at the time of the Africa Cup of Nations. There was a large TV screen on the square and it was a great vibe while watching the game. At one stage the staff did a song and dance, which was quite nice. The decor is very good, i liked it.

THe food was very good, and tasty. It is the kind of wholesome tasty food that your mom makes. I found all the food to be great and so did everyone at the table, and the service although it was not great and the waitress could hardly knew the menu made no difference to our enjoyment.

I can recommend the lamb terine and the lamb shank.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have visited Moyo often in the past. Our last experience wasn't very good. In its defense it was a few days after Christmas. Sprinkbok stew was very salty and presentations was awful. All three plates were slopped on to a plate. I was disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Voyagermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed moyo Melrose Arch also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to moyo Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing