We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very tasty, good setting, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghazal

Ghazal
Ranked #47 of 1,172 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“very tasty, good setting, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great restaurant for romantic dinner. The food is very tasty lots of flavour . Very reasonably priced. The settting is nice but if you want a seat by the windows (with the view) then you must reserve a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    110
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Best Indian food I've had in Johannesburg. Right up there with Spiceburg as my other favourite Indian restaurant in Joburg. Very good food, excellent service. The restaurant was packed on a Monday night, which tells you how good it is.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in JHB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

At least twice a month we visit Ghazal “ in Peter Place” so far we NEVER been disappointed, their food as always are delicious and very friendly stuff.

For me Ghazal is the best Indian Restaurant in JHB – try it…

Special thanks to Jimmy for always taking care of us! Gracias amigo..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My Favourite Indian restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have been a few times but last Saturday we took a friend for her britthday dinner.
We booked ealier in the day - we requested a booth just for 3 of us - no problem!

The menu is extensive and the choice of spicy-ness of your food is spot on!
We had the lamb vindaloo, chicken tikka masala and paneer makhnie - just delicious!
The naan was fresh and cooked to perfectly - and to top it off we had chocolate volcanoes and coffee.

Left feeling extremely satisified - worth every cent!

Thanks to Jimmy and his guys for always taking care of us!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best lamb korma in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ghazal is for your trusty favourite dish which you know will taste the same every single time. Whilst I know that taste is subjective and you could never satisfy every palate, Ghazal's medium lamb korma is what makes me want to do the happy dance! I've tried it elsewhere but nothing beats it or gets even close. Their other dishes that I've tried are also very good. The atmosphere is lovely and relaxing and the service is good. I often order my trusty korma as a take-away and even then it is fantastic. We visit Ghazal at the very least once a month and will continue to do so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoonyLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghazal also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing