We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghazal - Sunninghill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghazal

Ghazal
Coachmans Crossing Centre, Peter Place Road | Peter Place, Johannesburg, South Africa
011-706 9826/9412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 974 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ghazal - Sunninghill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

One is never disappointed when it comes to eating out at Ghazal. The service, food, location and ambience is just wonderful. So often at Indian restaurants the food is good but the dessert never quite matches the main course, This is not the case at Ghazal. The food is tasty, portions are generous and the chocolate volcano is superb! It the kind of place to take a date, go as a family or meet up with friends. Voted best Indian restaurant for 2010 and 2011 I can see why.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I recommend the lamb biryani. Beautiful flavours! Good service for a very busy Friday lunch. Naan bread the best I've ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top notch Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I eat here regularly and have never had a bad experience. The food is always good, the service is speedy and efficient and the atmosphere is nice.
I really enjoy it and will keep going back. If you haven't tried it I recommend you do!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best indian food I have had so far in Johannesburg. Generous portions, very good staff, nice atmosphere. Accurate spicing and superb naan, with real ghee, these guys don't cut corners. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NjTravel_hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i love their curry and the atmosphere of the restaturant. friendly service and brilliant food...im always going back for more!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boitumelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghazal also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing