We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eco-friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SUN1 Southgate

SUN1 Southgate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SUN1 Southgate
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
ilorin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“eco-friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is an idea place for short stay, after the indaba 2012, we moved to this hotel for 2 nights stay.
it is neat and clean.everything in the hotel is unique except that it is small.it is not ideal for long stay.

Room Tip: you need to find a place to eat since the hotel does not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank battravelsIlorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Excellent hotel for the money you give. Opt Formula 1 Hotel for a short stay, very good for travellers, Small, clean well maintained rooms and toilet. Good friendly staff and located at heart of city. Very cheap for the facility offered. Most I liked is the ecofriendly lighting system which looks advanced and works/looks very good.

Room Tip: Looking for value for money, then take this
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank review121180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We moved to this place for two nights after a horrible bed bug experience at a place nearby. The rooms were a little small, but very cute, though the sink was across the room from the bathroom. There was no door to the shower, and our bathroom door must have not been completely sealed, because water got all over the floor in front of the bathroom. Everybody was very nice and very accommodating to us, even though we were a group of 20 booking last minute. Breakfast was always kept stocked even with other guests coming in and out as well.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorfw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

My two sons and I stayed at this hotel in July and again in August. Both times were for 1 night as we caught connecting flights the next morning. The room was small but we only needed a place to stay so for 399 ZAR it was great value. The additional cost breakfast was OK, but .. there was a lot of sugary foodstuffs. However, the breakfast certainly carried us along to the airport better than THREE empty stomachs would have.

The rooms was clean with enough soap and towels for the 3 of us. Cramped, but good. I would stay there again as the 2 different experiences staying there were both good :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Formula 1 in Southgate is very well located near Johannesburg's major international airport. The rooms are really small although they do accommodate up to three people, but the small space has been so diligently used that you hardly notice it! The room I stayed in was clean, and well air conditioned, but what I really liked about the place was how technologically advanced it is compared to most motels. Light switches are conveniently placed just above the bed's head board and with a simple touch or two you can moderate how dim or bright you want your room to be. The taps are also "techy" and you don't have to turn on any light at the sink. The light switches on automatically eveytime you approach the sink!
I enjoyed my time there, but I found the price (five hundred and something rands at the time) to be slightly hefty. Especially since breakfast wasn't included. If it weren't for the faulty coffee machine, and the lack of breakfast (they were under renuvations at the time), and the not-so-affordable price, I'd give it a 5/5.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WanderlustVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#37 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
22.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUN1 Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUN1 Southgate

Property: SUN1 Southgate
Address: Cnr Colombine and Rifle Range Street | Southgate, Johannesburg 2111, South Africa (Formerly Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SUN1 Southgate hotel provides comfortable accommodation close to Soccer City that can accommodate up to 3 guests sharing, all at affordable rates that are hard to beat in Southgate, Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing