We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Space Guest House
Ranked #189 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
East London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is the sister establishment to the 12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments, so too class furnishings, smaller suites but completely supporting the self catering feel. Lovely spacious rooms, private and secure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
16
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this guest house, located nicely in Melville, which is supposed to be a trendy quarter with nice cafes, restaurants, and bars. Modern equipped and spacious, nice cafe around the corner where you have your breakfast (incl in our rate). Good support for taxi services, eg. For trips to restaurants or to the airport.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hakscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved this place. The location is very central and the rooms are very trendy and comfortable. I stayed there for almost 3 weeks and at the end of a long day it really was like coming home. I would drfinitely stay there again and choose it over any hotel any day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WafiyyahQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Space is a nice guesthouse in a great location. First, our room was spacious, with a nice kitchen area, a large bathroom, a really comfortable bed, and a nice sitting area. The room was spotlessly clean and well-lit, which is important because the room was a bit darker, though that was of little concern. We could have happily spent a few days here.

Second, The Space is located steps from the action on 7th, in the heart of Melville, so if you are looking to wander around a fun, happening part of Johannesburg, this is the place for you. Also, security is really an afterthought here: Melville is relatively safe, and the rooms are located in the back of the building behind a gate for which each room has a remote. No worries whatsoever. Breakfast was provided with our reservation, and it is served at a great bakery across the street, De La Creme.

Overall, this is a great guesthouse in a perfect location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They all seem nice and well-located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Two years ago, when I was living and working in Johannesburg for some eight months, Melville was one of THE suburbs of Johannesburg to be. Its bustling high street (7th Street between 1st and 5th Avenues) was full of restaurants, bars and little shops, attracting a bohémien crowd of often large size.

Last month me and my boyfriend returned to Melville, to stay there in The Space Guesthouse for three nights on the final leg of our three weeks' South African round trip. We were quite disappointed, not by the Guesthouse but by Melville. Many former shops and some former restaurants and bars had closed down. Others still appeared in business but didn't open. The global crisis seemed to have hit hard onto Melville. Several other places across Johannesburg showed an identical picture. Formerly flourishing shopping malls were now empty or almost empty. On the other end, however, building sites could be seen all over the place. And although air quality seemed to have deteriorsted considerably, the metropolis still appears well maintained in most places. Of course one could think of a post-Worrld Cup 2010 bubble burst, but that does not explain all of the apparent economical decline.

Enough on Melville and Johannesburg. Now to The Space Guesthouse. We were allocated Twin Suite 1, consisting of two large rooms, each with their settee, a more-than-pantry-like kitchen and a comfortably spacious bathroom. Plus a nice outdoor terrace overlooking 5th Avenue (away from the earlier hustle &bustle) and (fairly important in Johannesburg, although its criminal reputation seems somewhat exaggerated) a safe car parking place during the night. So space is amply offered: it looked that the other suites are equally spacious.

Cleanliness is spotless and the suites are very well maintained. They are also very well appointed, providing an overall feeling of pleasant luxury and pampering. Hence, value for money (€ 110 per night for two persons, incl. a convenient breakfast in nearby Café de la Crème), no doubt.

Two lightly critical observations need to be made. The instruction (together with a large amount of other guest instructions) not to provide any food for staff sounds like 'don't feed the animals', often found in zoo's and similar places. This does not justice to the proud efforts made by the black staff to provide hospitality, and suggests a somewhat paternalistic employer attitude. Hospitality from the owner's mother, who seems to be the permanent duty manager, was generally ok. The owner himself, publishing his venue in a fairly personal way in order to attract sufficient custom (of course totally justified) did not follow up by greeting his so acquired guests, although being present on the premises on some afternoons. The personal dimension of the sales process was not continued during delivery, much to our regret.

Nevertheless, for the time ownership of the place continues as it is, The Space Guesthouse is certainly highly recommended, offering spacious, boutique-like accommodation in what still is a reasonably relaxed area of Johannesburg, at fair prices, with the right value-for-money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in Suite 2 and there is a small garden area but is has no comfortable furniture there for relaxing outside - so there is no real good outdoor space.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

For anyone thinking of opening a guest house, I highly recommend that they go to the Space Guest House and learn from the very best. Space turned out to be a real gem. Ruby and Johann as hosts, treat you with a warmth and friendliness that makes you feel like family. They do everything within their power to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and memorable. I have stayed in hotels all over Johannesburg and not one of them came anywhere near to what I have experienced during my stay at Space. The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast at the quaint café next to the guest house was lovely too. It is ideally located and there are numerous great restaurants and bars located within walking distance. I advise Melon and Ratz, good food and great company. The location of the guest house is great from a convenience point of view when doing business in Johannesburg.
Overall, this is an excellent place to stay with two of the most amazing hosts you will have the pleasure to meet. I fully intend to stay here on all future visits to Johannesburg.

Thank you Ruby and Johann

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#38 of 295 in Johannesburg
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#61 of 295 in Johannesburg
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#15 of 295 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#2 of 111 in Johannesburg
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Space Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Space Guest House

Property: The Space Guest House
Address: 93 4th Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Space Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Space Guest House is centrally located in the heart of trendy Melville, close to SABC, Media 24 and the University of Johannesburg. The guest house is on Melville’s vibrant main road which boasts a variety of top restaurants, cocktail lounges, galleries, boutiques, bookstores and coffee shops.The Space Guest House is also close to the main highways and centres of Johannesburg, the closest being Rosebank, Parkhurst and Greenside, as well as many of the city’s tourist attractions, including the Apartheid Museum, Constitutional Court and the Nelson Mandela Bridge.Modern, stylish and contemporary bedrooms have private entrances and many comforts, including shared satellite TV and bar fridge. Full breakfasts are served. Other facilities include ADSL Internet access in each room, laundry and airport transfers and arranging of tours.Safe and secure parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Space Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing