We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
1 review
“Unfortunate experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The venue is amazing for a suburban/country venue. I believe it is good on the weekend however my family and I had a horrible experience. The food was average and I had to send my R149.00 fillet back because they cooked it well done and it was dry. I order med rare. By now we forgave this because of the setting which was ruined by the garden maintenance weed eating right next to our table! For half an hour. When we left the manager took our complaint but seemed to not care less, I think she was happy to get the weed eater back to work.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennisj1977, Manager at Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Jason,

I am very sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience last week. We do have a landscaping company that do routine maintenence once a week. This of course is not intended to interfere with our clientel in any way, and I have taken the nessecary steps to ensure this does not happen again.

I do however appreciate your feedback so I can addess these issues.

Dennis Jocks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
8
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

At Fabz having a conference with building works going on. Rediculous ! How can take money for a conference when bashing and doing building works!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt-za-jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennisj1977, General Manager at Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Matt,

We are sincerely sorry to you and the other conference candidates who were with us through the construction of our new Conferencing venue. It was a very difficult time, as it always is during a refurbishment, we have received rave reviews on our newly completed venue. Again we are sorry that this did effect your event but look forward to seeing you at Fabz again.

Regards,

Dennis Jocks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Edgecombe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The service was excellent! Outstanding.
The accommodation was so spacious and clean.
The hotel is near a few shopping centre's, close to freeway, Gym,
Homely environment, friendly, pool accessible. Had our conference there and it was all in the same area. What a pleasure!!
Garden environment is relaxing especial as it is a city!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I was shocked to see such bad comments on a place that I frequent and honestly believe is an undiscovered gem for young families. The only fault I can find with the place is in their marketing. Myself and my partner often go there for a long lunch by the duck pond or early dinner with friends, then even though the drive home to Morningside is not far, we stay the night with our 4 kids, who have then had an action-packed day of riding their bikes around the dam, feeding the ducks and playing on the jungle-gym. The kids have a ball and so do we and can't wait for our next stay!! Our accommodation is always comfortable and clean and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradybunch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

We had an absolutely awful experience at Fabz Estate in Lonehill on the 14th December. The food was all inedible and over priced and the level of service was terrible. The venue is in serious decline and is not a true reflection of what is portrayed on the web. The whole experience was disappointing and we complained by email. We eventually received a reply, however we feel that our concerns have not been finalised or adequately compensated - whilst we appreciate the offer to dine for 50% off the bill on a further occasion, we are reluctant to part with any more money and have requested that they rather refund 50% of our original bill. We are waiting for a reply to our email of the 22nd December from the CEO!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewbJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyarm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

The staff at this hotel in the northern suburbs are incredibly friendly and the hotel is near some great shopping malls. There is a wonderful fireplace in the lobby and also a great little wine cellar, which they could really do so much more with!

There are a number of downsides to the hotel, not the least of which is that you cannot change money. The rooms are not very warm and inviting and also don't stay here in the winter unless you want to freeze! The small heater does little to heat the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladyarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhyl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

I spent 5 weeks at Fabz Eastes with a company of 45 people all with different demands!
I found Kevin, sandra, Bianca and Sydney to be excellent.
We organised BBQ's, Sunday Roasts, a special event and childs birthday party all to an excellent standard of organisation due to their commitment.
We had an absolute ball whilst staying there and found all staff very accommodating and friendly.
There is an excellent courtesy bus and a great knowledge of local tourist attractions.
Very friendly and willing to help staff.
I have travelled throughout the world and enjoyed my stay there more than anywhere else.
looking forward to going back in 2009.

  • Liked — Management
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cherylrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#39 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.1 mi away
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
#51 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
11.8 mi away
All Suite on 14th
All Suite on 14th
#31 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#19 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 76 Concourse Crescent | Lonehill, Johannesburg 2062, South Africa (Formerly Fabz Estate Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing