We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference venue gone wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shumba Valley Lodge
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Conference venue gone wrong”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Quite a nice venue, Jerry in particular was most helpful.
We were there for 3 days, the food was recycled too often with little change in the menu. The food ran out at the dinner buffet. Breakfast can't be guaranteed as that also ran out more than once.
The bar was not well stocked, 3 nights in a row, ran out of all the beers despite out requests and recommendations as to what the group favoured. One would expect better value and product for the prices one paid at the bar and restaurant.
Very disappointed, we shall not be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Dorian ZZ

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us.

My sincere apologies for your stay not being what you expected. I am most perturbed by the problems that you experienced and will take these matters up with my respective management HOD's.

Your review is appreciated and thank you for letting us know where we can improve our service to our clients.


Your in hospitality
Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
5
15
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Just came back from a stay at Shumba Lodge. I was very impressed with the level of service, the hospitality and the room. We stayed in one of the private suites with private pool and it was beautiful, so serene and quite, it was amazing! It was incredible that it was so quite, we were thoroughly relaxed. All the staff from the reservations team( especially Patricia & Thembi) to the waiters in the restaurant were all friendly and really efficient, true African hospitality at it's best! The private suite was lovely, we felt really spoilt! It was really good value for money and I will definitely go back anytime I need a break away.

Room Tip: Choose the private suite with private pool, really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Lee-Ann

Thank you for your wonderful response.

It is always a pleasure getting positive feedback and that you have highlighted Patricia, Thembi and the restaurant staff as being exceptional in preforming their duties.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here. Very disappointed with the facility. Broken fixtures: to name a few - Hairdryer broken. Soap dish broken.Shower rack hanging totally loose on screws. Tap at face wash basin loose. Not to clean. Loose hair on floor in bathrooms along skirtings. Rundown communal areas. The staff at least friendly. Definitely not a romantic place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WynandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us.

It is disappointing that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that the maintenance and cleanliness are not what you expected.

Your comments will be used to rectify the problems you experienced and also be used for training staff to know what is the standard that guests expect. Shumba Valley is always looking to improve and this type of feedback is appreciate even though it is not good.

Should you be in our part of the world again, please feel free to contact me so that I can assist you when you stay with us again.

Paulo Marchio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We made the mistake of going to Shumba Valley Lodge for sundowners and dinner. Drinks around the pool were very pleasant, but dinner was a disaster! The food was terrible and the service not much better. If I can help it, we won't be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Markus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review about your experience at Shumba Valley Lodge.

We are most disheartened regarding your dinner that you had with us. Negative comment is never pleasant but does help one to rectify and sort out areas that are in need of improvement.

Should you be in the area, please feel free to contact me so that I can be of assistance to alleviate any short comings that you have experienced when you had dinner with us.

Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The first thing that I would say to you, is as obvious as it is, remember that summer and winter are the opposite way around to those of the UK in South Africa! I visited south africa in the British summer, expecting it to be warm, before I realised that it was their winter! The days can reach around 18 degrees, but the nights are absolutely freezing.

The layout of the hotel is unusual. Each room or two rooms is contained within a separate building, meaning your room can be quite a distance from the main reception area. The rooms varied in quality (I travelled with a large group). For the most part they were clean, but often the bathrooms were in need of being updates I would say.

Overall, service is good, not great. The food is fairly expensive in the restaurant, and it can often take quite a while before it comes out. When it does come, however, it is generally very nice.

Facilities wise, the hotel does well, having a gym and an outdoor swimming pool. This is great for free time within your day, where you can relax and chill out.

You also feel secure within Shumba Valley Lodge, as it has large fences surrounding it with security patrolling the site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Shumba Valley Lodge. We do appreciate your review.

Your comments regarding our property are appreciated not matter what type they are. These help us in improving our property and staff to make each and every stay that much more enjoyable.

We hope that next time you visit us in South Africa, the weather is warmer and you get to see and experience more of our hospitality.

Should you be interested in staying with us again, please feel free to contact me so that I can assist you with your stay.

Paulo Marchio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I spent 3 days here for a small workshop. While this hotel is comfortable, there are many issues, and I do not know how it achieved a 4 star rating. There is much evidence of insufficient maintenance or replacement of furnishings and fittings - a sense of slow decay. The food is unimaginative, the waiters cannot seem to get large orders correct, and if you arrive for a buffet (which was the offering on one day) when a large group is there, the expectation is that you will simply wait in line behind them (no-one advised us about when to take our lunch break)! The staff are friendly but mostly unable to solve problems presented to them; mostly, they do not even have the initiative to ask a manager to help - lots of training is needed to get them up to scratch. Most significant though was the fact that the Wi-Fi internet connection was erratic and, when functional, was very slow - our workshop required us to be on the internet most of the time, and the state of the Wi-Fi made it a very frustrating process (my low speed ADSL connection at home is faster!); the lodge should actually warn customers that they cannot offer good quality internet, as high speed access is assumed as a given for any establishment that advertises itself as a conference centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us for your conference.

We would like to apologise for any short comings whilst you conferenced with us. Your feedback regarding internet, service and food is appreciated and will help us with training and menu creation going forward.

The detail that you have placed in your comments helps us specifically pin point areas that need training or improvement. With regards to internet, we have approached our service provider to improve their signal strength and consistency.

We look forward to hosting you and your company in the future

Paulo and Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Not making a long story of this. The place has great potential, but what seems as lack of management and poor trained staff the stay was not as pleasentcas it couldve been. Waiters took food for themselves while at breakfast, dinner waiter had no idea of how to be a waiter. Staff lying around on couches watching soccer while there is guests. I worked at a three star resort and if I was doing that I wouldve been fired. So I have no idea how they got four stars. beds was comfortable, rooms clean. AC was switched ofcoutsidecroom, had to go look for the switch. Toilet clogged up for no reason. Lady at reception who checked us in was very friendly. Staff was very rude at breakfast

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lenr0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

My staff and I would like to thank you for writing a review.

The information that you have listed is of great value to myself as it is a way of remedying the problems you had whilst staying with us. I am aware that it is too late to apologise as the deed is done but would still like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations and more.

I find it appalling that staff are rude and do not know how to serve and that something like the airconditioner being switched off outside should have been corrected when a room inspection was done prior to your arrival.

Thank you for your wonderful comment about the reception staff member.

Should you be in our area again, please contact me to assist you with a reservation.

Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
10.5 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.1 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
23.9 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.1 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shumba Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shumba Valley Lodge

Property: Shumba Valley Lodge
Address: R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shumba Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travellers who seek the tranquillity of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel.Lanseria Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shumba Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shumba Valley Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing