We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Miserables Craft featurette”
Review of Craft Restaurant

Craft Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 1,302 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Craft serves you a meal in a place that evokes your sense of warmth, comfort, happiness, familiarity and belonging. Craft by people for people.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

okay, so i promised to go back to challenge my burger quest but i decided, to avoid disappointment and try something new. i had the chicken and macon pie! when i ordered i was told there was no macon, this made it sound better anyway. what arrived unfortunately for me, was a very small example of what a pie could be and alas, there was macon in it. the mash was tasty and the pie was bland. a small consolation was the cheese cake, delicious and well presented.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftParkhurst, Manager at Craft Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Sean,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really do appreciate it and will definitely be taking it into consideration. We hope that you will visit us again, and that the next time, you enjoy your meal as much as you enjoyed our delicious cheese cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were lured there by the name and the fact that craft beer on tap and bottled was offered. The choice of craft beer is impressive. Beers arrived promptly and ice cold. Service was very impressive, the vibe and decor great. Beers a tad expensive, though. Will stay for dinner next time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Wally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftParkhurst, Manager at Craft Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi Wally,

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our selection of craft beers and our great vibe. We look forward to welcoming you back to Craft for a meal soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having had a great prior experience for dinner, I took something of a risk, going to a "gourmet pub" for breakfast and taking my 8 month old daughter with. The food was fantastic, the service attentive and to top everything off, the manager doubles as a highly adept baby whisperer rocking any irritable toddlers allowing parents time to finish off the tasty delights before returning to entertaining their young princes/princesses.

Both from the time when we had dinner as couple and when we had breakfast as a family, I highly recommend this great destination on a great Jozi strip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MqondisiGumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftParkhurst, Manager at Craft Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Craft soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

this place has promise! the concept, design and vision is awesome. the presentation of the food is picture quality, service is excellent, the beer? the beer!!. the pulled pork mini burgers and onion rose, delicious, my burger looked like i had conquered my quest!! but alas, it was not to be. the burger was tasty but the roll was stale and just fell apart, i would like to say, to crumbs, but then i'd be a bit of a drama queen. i will be back to try again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftParkhurst, Manager at Craft Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thanks for the great review Sean, we really appreciate your feedback and your comments about our burger roll has been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back again to try some of our other dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Not easy to find if you are not from Johannesburg.

Even harder to get a table during lunch and dinner times. The restaurant operates on a first come - first served basis, i.e. no bookings are taken.

One male and one female toilet. You may be stuck in a queue for a while during busy hours.

But the food and craft beer is worth coming back. Olive meatballs with sweet potato mash and craft Weiss beer is a must have. The presentation will also surprise you.

In comparison with most restaurants in Jo'burg - excellent by far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Konstantine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftParkhurst, Manager at Craft Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Hi Konstantine,

Thanks so much for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Craft and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craft Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Craft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing