We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Normandy, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

After a long flight from Europe and before taking off for an extended holiday we were looking for a place that eased us into Africa - this was it! A well managed hotel. We arrived before the normal check-in time (I had mentioned this when booking) and there was a room ready for us. The Bistro was in the process of being remodelled so we ate lunch by the pool - no hardship there!

When booking we had asked the hotel to arrange for an afternoon tour of Soweto with a guide. This worked well - the driver was very good and knowledgeable about the area.

The room was spacious and well designed. There were all the ameneties including Ipod docking station, tea & coffee faciliities and good quality toiletries. The staff were excellent and very happy to help. We will certainlly use the hotel again when using Jo'burg airport.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grand_Quality_Hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I will pass them on to the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    114
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
104
299
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watamu, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I travel to Joburg a lot and I have stayed in many different hotels and the Peech is one of my favourites. Its small enough so the service is great. Having breakfast in the garden on a sunny day is a real treat and the rooms are stylish and large and best of all free WIFI at good connection speeds.

I am also very impressed with the hotel's restaurant - very good menu and we've entertained clients here who have been impressed. Overall the Peech offers a stylish stay at very good value. Well done James and the team!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Thank you so much for your feed-back. The team here will be thrilled to know you enjoy the hotel (as am I!). Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I wanted to stay in a ecological hotel. That's true, the Peech try to be a green example. Solar thermal Energy on the roof, some compact fluorescent lamp (CFL), no fridge in the room, no plastic bottle for spring water, no lift... but do those ecomical and ecological are enough ?
I notced electrical heating in my bathroom, the airconditonner is still here but most of time it is not necessary.
Execpt my question about the green status. I enjoyed. The place is quiet, peaceful. Only few customers and 16 rooms. Don't expect to swing in the pool; it's only for picture (around 12 square feet)
The team is very refined and sweet. The Peech is a little bit expensive for a green experience in South Africa and rate are close to European levels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Thank you for your review and comments. We take all comments to heart and always aim to improve with the feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed at The Peech a couple of days ago with my husband and 4 year old son on our way back from a trip to Drakensberg mountains and Durban. Unfortunately it was only for one night. Would have loved to have stayed for longer. I loved everything about it. From the complimentary peach juice upon arrival to all the other little details that made it so appealing to me. Here's a list of all the things I loved:

-the hotel layout (not your usual hotel! The rooms are scattered along the garden, separate from the main building)
-the overall decor (lounge, room, etc.)
-the garden (decent size pool, herb garden, etc)
-waking up to birds singing
-the feeling of calm and elegance
-the fact that they had proper duvets on the bed with crisp white sheets
-bathrooms - so simply perfect!
-the colours they used throughout, etc., etc.

...I could go on... but, just gonna say one more thing: I've never written a review for a hotel before, but just had to this time. Was so surprised and impressed with The Peech. It was the perfect end to our holiday.

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anorangehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2010
Thank you for writing you first review and for making it about us. I am delighted you liked the hotel and will make sure your compliments are passed on to the staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Following a tour of Namibia we had one night at The Peech before flying back to the UK. I chose the hotel because of its reviews on Trip Advisor.

Arrangements were made for them to collect us from Joburg airport. Our room was superb with excellent fittings, iPod dock, plasma TV and Molton Brown bathroom soaps etc. The rooms are ground floor and first floor in semi detached style homes, within the hotel grounds. We were on the first floor with a small balcony but big enough to sit on.

We had dinner at the hotel on the first evening. The food was excellent; so good I complemented the chef and I have eaten in some of the best restaurants and not often done that. Breakfast was superb with great choice and most ample.

As we only had just over 24 hours in Joburg we wanted to see a lot in a little time. No problem they arranged a car and driver, our own chauffer to take us around and wait whilst we visited wherever we wanted. At the end of the day we returned to the hotel and they gave us a room to change and freshen up in before our departure to the airport.

The grounds are secure with secure parking.

The Peech is a wonderful place to stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it; for a leisure trip or even a business trip. It’s much better than a faceless chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I will be sure to pass the compliments on to our staff and drivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Having travelled from Cape Town we needed an overnight stay before we went on a 5 Day safari. We also required an overnight stay on our return before we went off to Dubai. We choose the Peech Hotel off tripadvisor and the hotel kindly offered to store our 2 large suitcases until our return as we were getting a light aircraft to the safari and they only allow soft bags with a restricted weight. We had heard so many stories of peoples safety in Johannesburg and knowing the Peech Hotel was secure within its own walled grounds with security on the main gate was one reason we choose it
The hotel was small only 13 rooms accessed from the beautiful manicured gardens which had a swimming pool all be it very small. The rooms were clean comfortable with tea or coffee making facilities but no mini bar or fridge. There were open wardrobes with shelves, hanging space and a safe. The top floor rooms had a small balcony and the ground floor rooms a small terrace both had chairs. The bathroom flooring is a concrete that has been varnished over which matched the quite minimal décor throughout the bedroom. At reception Julius was extremely pleasant and helpful at check in which made us feel welcome. We were also greeted with smiles in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast by all the staff. The menus were adequate and the quality of food was good. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our early morning and late evening departures by allowing us extra time in the bedroom. This we found to be a great service as the lounge is quite small with limited seating. The location is not really within walking distance of the main downtown shops or restaurants but only a 15 min taxi ride away. We though this hotel was value for money and great for the two one night stopovers.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH&LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass the compliments on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Lovely manicured grounds, nice sized rooms, it has that ubiquitous boutique hotel chic. It is a welcome sight for weary travelers and it feels like it's all there.
except in the details things don't hold up. greasy breakfasts (and i was reminded although breakfast was included, the tip wasn't so...), i will second a previous post mentioning that the salmon entree is atrocious, cobwebs in the corner of the dining room, no mini fridge in the room, the bartender didn't know how to make some very basic cocktails...it's the details that makes a hotel experience memorable.

however, the staff are lovely and they do aim to please. it's just rough around the edges.

it gets loud at times, when events are on. although sympathetic, there is nothing the staff can do until event ends.

incidentally, there's a large gym next door where you can buy a day pass from the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simian_swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperP, owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
We are sorry that the hotel did not fully live up to your expectations. We will take your comments to heart as we agree that the details make a big difference. We are starting to rennovate our bistro in January and your comments have told us we have some work to do on the staff and kitchen side as well which we now acknowledge. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing