We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently had to stay overnight in Johannesburg and chose The Peech!
WE were blown away by the excellent service, lovely rooms but most of all the evening meal at their Bistro!
We had the lamb dish as a main course and as South africans we eat it frequently, this dish was was perfection!
It is near most of the main centers and I would recommend this boutique hotel wholeheartedly!
Tien Fourie

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeuni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us so much! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for The Peech Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 568 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at The Peech Hotel after a 10 day Botswana safari and we could not have made a better choice! The beds were comfortable and soothed us to sleep with the heating pad underneath us. The bathrooms were clean and the tub was long enough to entice my tall husband. Heated towel racks, cotton robes and toiletries were much appreciated and wonderful. We had dinner at the Restaurant and it was superb. The chef even made our picky eater teenagers a special pasta dish that they loved. We ate in the wine room and it was cosy. Breakfast included croissants, fresh squeezed juice and smoothies...as well as omelets, french toast and other hot dishes. We were warmly welcomed by a professional and thoughtful staff and a blazing fire in the lounge fireplace. We can't wait to visit South Africa and stay at The Peech again!

Room Tip: Room 10 was second floor and had a private porch that looked out onto an herb garden. There were flo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your great review and for sharing your experience with us. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a place in Johannesburg. The rooms are modern and the art work, edgy and cool. The staff is friendly and kind, and went out of their way to make us at home. The food was some of the best we experienced in Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithmalcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for sharing your experience. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed just the one night on a recent business trip to Jo'burg, but I'd definitely go back. This is a great boutique hotel with a small pool and a collection of well appointed rooms. I was here in winter and there was a roaring fire and comfortable bar area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review & I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a great time at the Peech hotel. It is located in a very chic, nice and upscale part of Johannesburg. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, and the outside backyard area is really lovely. The hotel arranged a great private tour of the city, the Apartheid museum and Soweto for us. It was great - our guide Kierren ( spelling?) was very nice and very knowledgeable about his city. The hotel restaurant was cozy and the food was delicious- we ate there both nights. Our waiter Oscar was very nice and accommodating- he made us feel truly welcome there. We had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at The Peech Hotel for two nights. The hotel is very small and quaint and highly personable. Our family of 5 stayed in two of the suites upon our arrival to South Africa. We were very impressed with this adorable and charming boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed one night
2 minor complaints
Room slippers were used and unclean.
Container of bodywash was empty - was not replaced after the last guests left.
Breakfast excellent, Food was good and good value, staff helpful, room clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGCpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Sulaiman, Thank you for bringing this to our attention and apologies for the two issues. We will review and tighten up our housekeeping procedures as these are below par on both counts. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $200 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing