We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peech Hotel”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent one night at the Peech Hotel. Very clean room. Terrific boutique hotel in very safe area of Johannesburg. Really cute and clean. Food was great. The staff was very nice. Reasonably close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 577 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stay here if you don't mind: (1) having to drag your own luggage outdoors through a downpour and upstairs to your second-story room; (2) having to teach the bartender to make a Martini; (3) not getting your laundry back on time; (4) hideously slow internet connection; (5) a wall-mounted TV screen so far from the bed that you need binoculars and hearing aids to view and hear it; and (6) a coldly modern interior decor that utterly (and absurdly) contradicts the property's historical origins.

Room Tip: Make it as close to the lobby as possible. Or pack rain gear and a big umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

I am deeply saddened to read your review and hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My team and I have been through your comments in detail and clearly we have much to learn from. If we have identified your booking correctly, you were part of a group of six rooms checking in together from N America & I'd like to respond to your comments in detail. 1) as a small hotel check-ins of large groups can sometimes mean your luggage later to your room (if our staff are assisting other guests and especially if its raining as this slows us down). Security is good at the hotel and the fact that your luggage was at reception means we were planning to get it to your room shortly. 2) and 3) both issues we need to learn from and do additional training on - my apologies to you as we fell short here and are going to re-train cocktail making. 4) internet in South Africa can be erratic and I know we've had problems in the last two weeks. We do have a dedicated fibre line coming to the hotel in the coming month but until then our hands are tied to using the state provided tadsl phone lines. 5) and 6) I am sorry that you did not like the design of the rooms. In the ten years of operation we've not had another comment or complaint of this sort but I respect your different viewpoint on our design and sorry that you did not like it. We will endeavour to improve and learn from your comments and I am sorry that The Peech did not live up to your expectations. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at the Peech Hotel for one night in March 2014. The Peech Hotel in my opinion is one of the premier hotels in Johannesburg. One can stay at other hotels in the Sandton/Rosebank area like the Radisson, Hyatt or Hilton, but what distinguishes the Peech Hotel from these hotel chains is its tranquillity and boutique feel. The Peech Hotel is very quiet. It's like a home away from home. The rooms overlook a beautiful garden and the swimming pool. The staff are very friendly. And I have to commend the breakfast which is included in the room rate. The breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, croissants, fruit juice, tea and coffee, followed by the hot breakfast menu, where one can order omelettes, a full English breakfast, etc (which is not an additional extra and is included in your accommodation - great value!). I would recommend the Peech Hotel to any traveller spending a few nights in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. It was a great room. Clean, neat and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weelz1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed us and will be sure to pass your comments on to everyone here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

we had two good nights here the staff very helpfull arranged a half day tour of jo burg and sowetto the driver Kieran was very knowledgeable we enjoyed it We had an evening meal here on our first night as we were tired from travelling the food was not the best we left most of it

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a good stay. I will also look into the meal you had on your first night. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at this small boutique hotel. The entire staff is truly welcoming and friendly. As it was our first time in the city the staff arranged for a half day private tour of the city on very short notice. The hotel itself is in a residential area which is not busy at all so if you want quiet this the place for you. The room was very large, as was the bathroom and had all the modern facilities and conveniences. Set in a lovely well-maintained garden, the hotel is a contemporary design and fits well into the suburban area. We ate at the restaurant several times and very much enjoyed the great service and the food of a high standard. Since it is a small hotel, the restaurant does not have an extensive menu. Breakfast was buffet style and hot dishes could also be ordered.

While security at the hotel is very high, there are few people walking about in the area and very little to see within walking distance. The hotel is more than a 30 minute drive from either the downtown area or the airport and a rental car or taxi is definitely the only reliable transportation. A nice spot for guests who are in transit and need a good rest before moving on to the next destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyurwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very well run establishment. Great staff and well appointed rooms. Have stayed in many guest houses and small hotels in Johannesburg and this is by far the best in it's segment. Will most certainly be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DH1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The best place where to stay if you love the nature, the silence, the clean and nice atmosphere of a well designed boutique hotel. The rooms are big and nice, the bathroom has all the necessary confort that you need, the staff is very kind and helpful, the garden is well conducted and has also a small swimming pool. The restaurant is very good, everything is fresh and well presented, the wine list is varied and rich, the service very kind. The hotel is located in Rosebank a very calm area closed to shopping mall and restaurant. Also the driver are not very expensive and they try to arrange what you need....You can also use the fittness which is closed to the hotel, a very big gym with a huge swimming pool and a lot of indoor activities. I tryed also the massage that the staff suggested and it was just WOW...The best place...It is like a home away home.
Such a pity to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $188 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing