We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the Peech hotel. We stayed as a quick one night layover after our flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg. We left the next morning for another flight to a game reserve near the Kruger so it was a brief stop. The rooms were very large, the staff were extremely pleasant, and the food at dinner and breakfast was amazing! The beds were also very comfortable. The heated towel rods in the bathroom was a big hit for the wife. The only problem we had was that the hotel is near the Melrose Arch area so its a bit of a drive from the airport if you have an early connection the next day but for us, it was worth the extra time to get there. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 586 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five days during the business trip to Johannesburg.

Hotel is very clean. Located at the safe and convenient location.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel provides inexpensive taxi. Taxi charge cab be included in the hotel bill.

Don't forget to visit the Office bar in the Greenside area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycrobusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to having you to stay again. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Peech after arriving in Johannesburg at that start of a South African holiday. The hotel is stylish and comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful; and the food is excellent. The hotel is a safe bet for anyone wanting a small hotel that's just a little bit different.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been in the Peech hotel during our last day of our African Honey Moon. The hotel is very nice, cozy and stylish but the must is the hotel restaurant without doubt the best meal of our 2 weeks honey moon! we had dinner there and I wish been there more days to try other dishes from the menu...! great job chef!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgataHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you appreciated their food! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Peech. We only have superlative compliments for the Peech. No advance payment was required by the boutique hotel. The receptionists and staff are very responsive, accommodating and assisting. They kept our luggage while we were in Kruger and booked all our transport needs. The location is ideal and close to dining areas such as Rosebank, Parktown, etc. and neighbor to a gym complex. The in-house food also surpassed our expectations. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Loved the electric blankets. My tiny complain is that ducks roused us from sleep early in the morning. Over-all, the facilities and service merit good value. We definitely recommend this to visitors looking for an accommodation in South Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manjoperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. The 'ducks' are actually 'hadidas', a type of ibis, and they can be noisy at certain times of the year! Apologies. They are native to Joburg and protected but at least do help keep our garden free of snails etc. Kind regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed four night here. I've been looked after very well. The surroundings, rooms, food, service is first class in a great setting. Away from the glitzy hotel environment. I loved it and will be saving for the next trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies for the sun lovers....of the winter sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tassie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the Peech hotel on my doorstep in Birdhaven / Melrose WAS a charming suave and tantalising venue for cocktails and after work drinks. no order was too big or too small. the drinks were as sophisticated as the ambience and décor.

The tranquillity of the venue lent itself to soft idle banter as you savoured the snacks proffered to guests sipping on their drinks of choice.

the homemade fries were delicately cooked to a luscious crisp. the garden idyllically mirrored the original artworks on the walls and the friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate you.

alas on my last visit to the Peech we were advised that they have stopped serving drinks to the public…. :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review & sorry that we no longer serve outside guests in our bistro. We plan to do so in the future but need to resolve an issue with our zoning with the city beforehand. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
444 reviews
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $174 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing