We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stylish and tranquil boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stylish and tranquil boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ended our 3-week South Africa trip at the Peech. Arriving after a long day's drive, we relaxed the minute we entered the property. The hotel and its grounds exude a serene and chic vibe; the gardens were almost Japanese in style. The interior was stylish -- lots of art, tasteful colors, and comfortable furnishings. Staff was warm and helpful and arranged several tours and excursions for us. Food at the restaurant was excellent, although the service was quite slow and the dinner menu was somewhat limited. I am stunned to read the "mediocre" review below - none of their experiences corresponded with ours.

Room Tip: There is a great double room on the 2nd floor of the main house -- excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to share them with our staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    103
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
271
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent three nights here while touring J'Burg. Beautiful property of converted duplexes so we felt like we were in our own roomy studio apartment. Oversize bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower. Made to order breakfasts. Dinner menu with unique choices. Reception very eager to please. Close to restaurants and shopping but used a cab after dark to get around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EduTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to share them with the team here. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

When you awake at The Peech you could think you were far away from any major city. It's grounds are quiet, relaxing and tranquil.
The Peech Johannesburg is an eco friendly boutique hotel, blending chic design with responsible tourism. Set in the suburb of Melrose, the hotel is spread over an acre of tranquil garden. The rooms are comfortable spacious and contemporary, the staff friendly and helpful, and their bistro serves up delicious local and international delights all day. Their nicest room was the Garden Suite, a 60 square meter room with open-plan bedroom and living space and an over-sized bathroom. The pool is a bit small, but serves its purpose.
Just north of the city center, it is conveniently located just walking distance from Melrose Arch and a short drive away from Santon City. I travelling further the hotel can arrange a personal driver to take you around.
All in all, the Peech was a great place to stay, contrasting the hustle and bustle of the city and leaving me refreshed every morning.

Eric - Modern Traveller

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernTravellerCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to share them with our staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Depressing lighting in the rooms. The conditions were dirty. Paint was peeling off of the walls. Upholstery was worn. Stains on carpets, walls, furniture. Front desk people were cold. The bed was uneven. The entry to the room was dark and under a stairwell. Truly claustrophobic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltraveled17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am mortified to read your comments about us, but thank you for making us aware of your experience. I am aware that some of our rooms need renovating - some have already been renovated and we are working our way through the hotel. You were unfortunately in one of the unrenovated rooms. Anyway your comments are the catalyst that will make us close them once our current guests leave and advance with our renovation plans at full speed. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this boutique hotel after our tiring but enjoyable safari trip. Our first good impression was the manucred garden and the home like layout of the 12 units. The staff were friendly and the food in the bistros is delicious and reasonably priced. The hotel is located at Melrose and about 20 minutes walk away from the upmarket Melrose Arch shopping centre. We took a taxi to the shopping centre as we didn't feel comfortable walking for that distance but I'm sure the local will tell you that it's safe to take a walk. There are plenty of good restaurants and specialist shops in Melrose Arch shopping centre. Prices at most restaurants are very reasonable. We found that this area is patronised by tourists. We feel that there are a couple of small issues that needed attention. First is the WIFI, although its free, we had no connection in our room which was on the first floor. Secondly, some of the staff were not familiar with the hotel facility and also not knowledgable about local tours. Finally, the return airport transfer arranged for us was quite expensive. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have noted the points you made regarding our WiFi and new staff and will endeavour to fix both in the coming week. I will also review our transfer prices with our supplier. It helps us alot to get a guests viewpoint as sometime we get too close to our product! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here in April and then in May while traveling in Africa. Wonderful, warm, friendly staff right down to the resident cat "Peaches". Small 16 unit boutique hotel with uncompromised attention to detail. I say this because when I returned for a second stay I was upgraded to the suite. The reason? They remembered that I enjoyed all the blooming flowers and this unit had the best view of the courtyard. The food served was 5 star and I had the best blueberry muffins I have ever eaten!

Room Tip: They are all good as they all face the courtyard. Beautiful artwork throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Peech for many times and will definitely be back again. Fantastic service, great spacious rooms (always stayed at the houses separate from main building), it is a lovely concept overall. The hotel cat is gorgeous too :-) James and his staff are there to make sure you have a great stay - the lobby with open fire is great place to sit in the evening with a glass of bubbles and they also offer a free wifi. This is a lovely gem of a hotel with very personable service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the separate buildings in the front are great with private balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'll pass them on to the staff and peeches! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing